Ladybug

“It is well for the heart to be naive and the mind not to be.”
– Anatole France

Ladybug

3″ x 5″ Acrylic on Paper Mache Box Lid

My niece, Chelsi, took the most amazing lady bug photos.  She was generous enough to share them with me.  They are in the WetCanvas reference image library, if you ever need a ladybug reference.

I sent Ryan (Asmalltowndad) one of Chelsi’s photos, because he does hands so beautifully.  He did it in watercolor and I think it turned out great!!    I love it!

The neat thing about this painting is that I can look at my niece’s hand (shown here holding her niece’s hand) and I can see my sister’s hand (her mom).  Thanks, Ryan!

About Anatole France

Anatole France was the pen name of Nobel Prize–winning French author Jacques Anatole François Thibault. He was born in 1844 in Paris. His father was a book dealer, and France spent his life among books, including 14 years as assistant librarian to the French Senate. His novels, including the Contemporary History series and The Gods Are Athirst, often use allegory and religious symbolism as vehicles for moral questions. He died in 1924.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chelsi
    May 17, 2013 @ 09:26:34

    I lov all of these!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Jeff
    May 12, 2011 @ 10:46:48

    Beth,

    I love the Ladybug on the paper mache box. The ladybug makes me ready for summer!

    Reply

  3. CarolKing
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 10:20:51

    A double bonus today! Your ladybug painting is terrific and Ryan’s painting of the hands is superb.

    Loved today’s quote too.

    Reply

  4. asmalltowndad
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 10:15:17

    Thank you Beth for mentioning and posting my painting. It still bothers me that it turned out muddy and I’m still considering redoing it to get the black and white, with a clean fresh version of the babies hand. Who knows will see.
    The lady bug is adorable!

    Reply

  5. lesliepaints
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 10:09:32

    What a wonderful quote today, Beth. We often view naive as a negative thing. I have thought on this some. I think naive only fits when we are in a group we, perhaps, might best avoid, if possible. 🙂 Beautiful.
    Your ladybug is popping brilliant and looks great perched atop a small box. Ladybugs always make me think of late summer and fall when they clamber outside my back door in the evenings trying to gain entrance. Quite a feat keeping them out!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 22, 2010 @ 10:27:28

      Thanks, Leslie! I think ladybugs are cool. On the quote… I think when my heart is naive, I get hurt to easy, unless I keep my mind fully engaged. But, on the flip side, you can talk yourself out of falling in love. It’s a very thought provoking quote. I like those. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment