Bears on Skates

The best thing that can come with success is the knowledge that it is nothing to long for.
Liv Ullmann

Bears on Skates

4″ x 6″ Watercolor & Sharpie on Postcard

I have been working intently on so many acrylic signs that I needed a little 20 minute quickie break.  This was fun.  Of course, I made it up as I went along.

I’m working on a 16″ x 20″ Acrylic painting that I was hoping I would have ready today.  (Good Grief – the big ones take a long time.)   Then…. I had it looking pretty good and I tried something on it that didn’t work, so now I am going to spend hours fixing what only took me 10 minutes to do.  I guess this is part of my learning curve.  😀


Liv Ullmann

(born Dec. 16, 1939, Tokyo, Japan) Norwegian film actress. Raised mainly in Canada and the U.S., she returned to Norway and made her stage debut in Oslo. She became internationally famous in the films of Swedish director Ingmar Bergman, including Persona (1966), The Passion of Anna (1969), Cries and Whispers (1972), Scenes from a Marriage (1973), and Autumn Sonata (1978). Noted for her expressive face, natural beauty, and intelligent performances, she also starred in other Swedish and international films, including The Emigrants (1971) and The New Land (1973), and appeared on stage in the U.S. and Europe. She directed and cowrote Sofie (1993) and directed Private Confessions (1999) from Bergman’s screenplay.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Artswebshow
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 19:03:39

    It’s all a learning curve.
    This is pretty cool

    Reply

  2. CarolKing
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 13:52:01

    would love to see some of your signs beth. I bet they are as whimsical as your paintings.

    Adorable bears. Tell Ryan he is very punny.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 09:25:12

    🙂 It’s good to hear you are working on a 16×20. There is quite a difference, I think, in switching to large and back again. The size of the brush changes for me and how I apply the pigment. I have more room to play around with large washes on a larger format and I can include sweeping strokes. The smaller ones always seem to require simplification and lots of tiny strokes. Love the bears….Definitely “Art that makes you wiggle your butt” like your website says. http://bethparkerart.com/

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 23, 2010 @ 09:33:34

      Thanks, Leslie! Yeah, I got goaded into trying a larger one. The sky is where I messed it up. I was pretty happy with the rest of it….. oh well. I do want to try some larger watercolors. I think that is where the freedom of movement would really be fun!

      Reply

      • lesliepaints
        Jul 23, 2010 @ 11:40:52

        Skies and water are hard for me.That is why you have seen some of my studies of both of those. The best ones seem to come along effortlessly and the worst, well, lots of re-doing.

  4. asmalltowndad
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 09:18:01

    From a person that can “Bearly Skate“ this is really cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

