Penelope

“I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be.”
– Groucho Marx

Penelope

4″ x 6″ Acrylic on Paper Mache Box Lid

I got this dog from the WetCanvas Reference Image Library.  I love her face!  Here is how the whole box looks…

I have noticed it’s been quiet on the blogs lately.  Is the heat getting to everybody as much as it is me.  I am slowing down to a crawl.  I never thought I would look forward to winter.  But, I think I am.  🙂

About Groucho Marx

Julius Henry “Groucho” Marx was the wisecracking central figure of the Marx Brothers comedy team, waggling his eyebrows in movies like Duck Soup and A Night at the Opera. He was born in New York in 1890. His mother organized the family into a vaudeville act, which didn’t become successful until Groucho began ad-libbing jokes and insults. In the forties and fifties, he hosted the wildly successful radio and TV quiz show You Bet Your Life. He died in 1977.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CarolKing
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 13:49:54

    excellent quote today Beth. I have to remember that one since I can let so many things get to me.

    Penelope is a cutie and bravo to you for navigating that damn wet canvas website!

    Many years ago I got to see Groucho Marx in person. My sister, brother and I had gone to see a Marx Bros. movie, Animal Crackers, which had finally been released again after many, many years. We scurried up to the Thalia on the Upper West Side to see it. It was way before multiplexes. This was an old fashioned movie theatre with a balcony and that was where we were. We watched the movie and then decided to stay for the 2nd showing. Suddenly we realized the next showing was an “opening” of sorts and in walks Groucho!!!! He was quite old at the time, but it was so exciting! He nodded to us and shook my brother’s hand. And then we were kicked out.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 24, 2010 @ 14:05:40

      That is a good quote, isn’t it! WOW, you got to meet Groucho Marx!!! Cool! See, sometimes it pays to be bad!! Thanks for your comment on Penelope, Carol! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Joan T
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 04:40:53

    No time to read your posts, just looking from Venice. Love the recent work!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 10:45:11

    Your dog is so COOL! You captured an expression that is totally engaging. 🙂 I have her photo stashed away, also!!! Great minds, you know, think alike.
    My sight has slowed down since last year, but I think it must have to do with search engines. (at least that is what I am blaming it on) The people I enjoy blogging with are still visiting and viewing, LIKE YOU! dear friend. The heat this summer is horrid. I was offline for a few days for a sister visit. perhaps our friends are vacationing?

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 21, 2010 @ 11:31:23

      Thanks, Leslie. I will probably do more of her, too. What a great dog! I forget how busy artists are in the summer. Those who do shows and such are off and running until winter. I’m just turning into a bit of a slug in this heat. I hope you had a nice visit with your sister. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

