Itty Bitty 3″ Crop from Panel 3

“We may spend our lives seeking something that is right inside us, and could be found if we only stop and deepen our attention.”
–Tara Brach

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Itty Bitty 3″ Crop from Panel 3 – Still adding color

The color is starting to be defined and the fun is really beginning.  This part is so addictive!  I just keep adding more layers and more light and shadow.  It’s so hard to walk away at this point.  I got to paint most of the day, yesterday.  I still have so much to do.

My non artist hubby is having a hard time reconciling all the time it takes to do these.  He sees all the hours as less and less profit when it sells.  I tried to explain to him that it’s not really about the money, but as his eyes glazed over, I explained that I will always own the image itself and I can reproduce it in other ways to make more money.  That seemed to satisfy him, sorta.   It makes little sense to the non artist that we fall a little in love with the “whole” of the painting as we tenderly dab on each little bit of color, delighting in each new shadow or area of light that dances off the canvas.  I can’t wait to see it hanging on the gallery wall and I hope that someday, someone will love it as much as I do.

Tara Brach is a leading western teacher of Buddhist meditation, emotional healing and spiritual awakening. She has practiced and taught meditation for over 35 years, with an emphasis on vipassana (mindfulness or insight) meditation. Tara is the senior teacher and founder of the Insight Meditation Community of Washington. A clinical psychologist, Tara is the author of

Radical Acceptance: Embracing Your Life With the Heart of a Buddha and the upcoming book, True Refuge-Three Gateways to a Fearless Heart (Bantam, February 2013).

Tara is nationally known for her skill in weaving western psychological wisdom with a range of meditative practices. Her approach emphasizes compassion for oneself and others, mindful presence and the direct realization and embodiment of natural awareness.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 11:07:45

    First, I must comment on your quote. No truer words ever stated. I actually think we spend a great many years learning and re-learning that the gold mine we seek has been traveling inside us the whole time.
    What you talk about with the joy of creating” washes into all endeavors that we truly enjoy, not just art. Sometimes I think our need to acquire has become entangled with our need for neccessities and we have to become disentangled from that once in awhile.
    What a neat example of a composition within a composition, Beth. Beautiful color choices, once again!

    Reply

  2. Cindy D
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 08:04:28

    Looks so cute and pretty! (A little blurry, but no points off!) Looking forward to it too! How long does the whole project take? Do you have to let the layers dry before continuing very often?

    I am thinking I need to do some painting because I really would like to do some large pieces (4 feet! or bigger!) and my current medium just wouldn’t work. I’ve used acrylics in the past but I’m thinking of trying oils, which is probably nuts for many reasons but particularly my need for instant gratification! (And also the initial cost for supplies, eek.) But I figured I could work on an oil painting and do my other drawings while I wait for all the drying time and things. And I think it would be cool to put some oil paintings in my Etsy shop. But we’ll see. Busy season at work is starting soon. Arrgh.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 03, 2012 @ 08:41:55

      Thanks, Cindy! I like the immediacy of watercolors. I can do several small paintings a day. With acrylic, it takes a lot longer, but these paintings seem to sell. I have played with oil, but I don’t really want to paint realistic and oil doesn’t seem to lend itself to my style very well. I still play with oils now and then for fun.

      When I work on these larger paintings, I can keep rotating them so that I don’t have to really stop and wait for paint to dry. I do a lot of fairly transparent glaze layers at this point and it does take a long time, but the end result of the glazing is amazing. For this stage, I use Golden Fluid Acrylics.

      I would love to see you do some acrylic paintings of some of the members of your slumbering herd. They would sell good, I think!

      Reply

  3. Carol King
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 08:24:42

    you are such a tease!!!! I can’t wait to see the whole painting completed. This section is so filled with happy and joyous colors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

