A bird can’t fly with clothes on, silly! – Illustration Friday

“Mindfulness is the aware, balanced acceptance of the present experience. It isn’t more complicated than that. It is the opening to or receiving the present moment, just as it is, without either clinging to it or rejecting it.”
–Sylvia Boorstein

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

A bird can’t fly with clothes on, silly! – 3″ x 4″ Watercolor and Sharpie

Having clothes and shoes on has certainly impeded this bird’s ability to fly.  He had to climb up on a ladder to see what other birds see from these heights.

The weekly word on Illustration Friday is Heights, and I’m posting this little fellow over there today, too.  The (naked bird) photo I painted it from was posted by Susan (Surob) at WetCanvas and it is her sister’s Blue Fronted Amazon, Blue.  🙂

Sylvia Boorstein

The anthropologist Margaret Mead said that some people have a “teaching gene” and, if that’s true, I think my father, Harry Schor, had that gene and that I inherited it from him. He loved explaining and demonstrating, and so do I. He taught me to swim, to roller skate, to ride a bike, to solve anagrams and to construct crossword puzzles. He taught me about puns and limericks. He was a mathematics teacher by profession and he taught me algebra and geometry at home, years before I learned them at school. My mother was unique amongst the mothers on our street. She had a job. She drove a car. She had passionately progressive political views and the loudest laugh of anyone I knew. I think I’m just like her.

More about Sylvia Boorstein can be found on her website here.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 04:19:08

    Cute and fun, fun, fun! I really enjoy your sense of humor and the phrases you have been posting have been particularly helpful lately. Thanks!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 30, 2012 @ 07:12:12

      Thanks, Linda! I really love it when the inspirations I put on my blog touch people. I really think they make my life better. Today’s is going to be a good one. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Tiny Things for Monday Artday with Copic Markers | The Slumbering Herd
  3. just4crafters
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 07:16:07

    He’s too cute with the sneakers and the vest!!! Love him!!! ~Sophia

    Reply

  4. asmalltowndad
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:18:11

    This is the ROBIN Williams of birds! The tennis shoes and vest looks like something he would have worn in earlier days. Thanks for the smile Beth!

    Reply

  5. Carol King
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 09:50:36

    Maybe he can’t fly, but he sure looks sharp!

    Reply

  6. Cindy D
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 07:51:02

    Haha so great! I love those sneakers and stylish vest. Such a face! And really neat how he’s got a bit a color at the top of his wings. I think he might be my favorite critter you’ve done!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 24, 2012 @ 08:03:38

      Thanks so much, Cindy! I love doing birds with shoes on. I was in an ATC exchange that I did 24 birds, all in some weird way with a story. The theme of the exchange was “What I love about spring”. It was so fun!

      Reply

Leave a comment