Underpainting my new Triptych – Three 12″ x 24″ Gallery Wrapped Canvases

“Habits of thinking need not be forever. One of the most significant findings in psychology in the last twenty years is that individuals can choose the way they think,”
–Martin Seligman

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Underpainting my new Triptych – Three 12″ x 24″ Gallery Wrapped Canvases

After I draw the chalk lines, I lay down an underpainting, using Golden Fluid Acrylics.  I paint right up to, but not over, all the chalk lines.  After the entire underpainting is dry, I wipe all the chalk lines off with a damp cloth.  That gives me the black outlines.  This stage is a little tedious, but it’s really fun to watch it develop.  🙂

Yesterday, I took 12 paintings over to Our Favorite Place, Eufaula’s new gallery.  It is so exciting!  They are planning a soft opening on April 9th.  No party or anything, just yet.  I think she wants to work all the bugs out first.  The owner of the gallery, Karen Weldin, doesn’t know anything about owning a gallery and she is not an artist.  She has pulled together an awesome committee of artists and people experienced with running a gallery, to help her put her dream in motion.  She bought the building last year and knew it was meant for something special.  (She’s right!)  The 100 year old building has been undergoing a complete restoration, bringing it back to it’s former glory.  There are some photos on their website and I’ll take more when all the art is hung.

Authentic Happiness is the homepage of Dr. Martin Seligman, Director of the Positive Psychology Center at the University of Pennsylvania and founder of positive psychology, a branch of psychology which focuses on the empirical study of such things as positive emotions, strengths-based character, and healthy institutions.

This website has more than 2 million users from around the world, and you are welcome to use all of the resources available here for free.  The best place to start is by learning more about the latest theory and initiatives in positive psychology, by taking one of our well-being questionnaires, or by checking out recent presentations and selected media.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 15:06:28

    I took a trip through your link to the new gallery. It looks super fantastic. I’d probably hang out there if I lived in the area. Maybe it is a good thing the owner is not an artist. You will all keep her so busy showing and selling, she would not have time to do her own work.

    The way you are painting your triptych, above, is the style I like so much and always attribute to you! I like the rolling hills and the divisions of your landscapes when you create these, Beth.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 31, 2012 @ 15:30:23

      Thank you so much, Leslie! I do feel like it’s my time to shine… now that I’m over that flying thing. I’m having some fun again. Your comment means a lot to me. Thanks again!

      Reply

  2. Joan T
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 08:46:03

    I can’t believe this is what is under your bold paintings. How cool!!! It is sort of like a butterfly coming out of a cocoon. Good luck at the gallery. I’ll have to pop over to see it.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 28, 2012 @ 08:48:41

      Hi Joan! This is how the acrylics are done, most of the time. It takes forever, but the results are worth it. I love the butterfly coming out of a cocoon comment. Thanks so much for that!!!

      Reply

  3. Cindy D
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 08:10:06

    Wow, ok, that is starting to look really neat. And it makes more sense that you don’t paint over the chalk. Would masking fluid do the same thing? (Maybe more of a pain though?) When you say Golden Fluid Acrylics, is that just a brand name or are you actually using golden colors? (They do look golden but that could be a coincidence!) So, I think I see a small herd of cows, and a graveyard, and of course I can’t wait to see what great colors you pick for the rolling hills!

    Reply

  4. Carol King
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 07:47:25

    the new gallery looks like a great space and I wish you success with your artwork there. Thanks for showing us the under-painting of your new triptych. I like seeing how different artists work. I’m looking forward to seeing your triptych evolve from just under-painting to a full painting.

    Reply

Leave a comment