Street Scene Watercolor and New York City Myth Busting

Every new moment that arises in your life can now be a point of choice. . .in which you can choose to treat yourself and others with Compassion rather than Judgment.
–David Harp

New York City Street Scene – 8″ x 8″ Watercolor

Look Ma… No Sharpie!  **giggle**

Okay, I have questions and my friend Carol King, who lives in New York City, said she’d help.  In order for my questions to make sense, I need to show you the whole scene, before I cut out the stuff I was afraid to paint.

I already asked Carol what the tourist percentage was.  She told me… “Depends what part of the City you’re in. If you’re at the Empire State Building say, then it’s more like 80%! Times Square at Broadway show curtain time? 99%! You can’t walk at all!

I asked about how hard it was to walk around all those people gawking up and taking photos.  Carol has things she tells her visiting friends NOT to do and I believe that is on the list.  he he  I’m sure this list is just for their safety.  Carol says she likes tourists and tries to be helpful and friendly, since she is also a tourist when she travels.

I have more questions.

Do they really put tables and chairs out in the middle of the street?   Or maybe this is like a food court in a mall…. give the people a convenient place to eat and gawk without getting hurt.

Do they really surf there?  Is this not reserved for the west coast?

I see it is really clean.  I like that.  Is all of New York City this clean?

There are many ladies alone in this photo.  Is it really that safe?  Most of us have a scarier vision of New York City, I think.

KFC… really?  I thought New York City was too cosmopolitan for KFC.

Everybody seems so relaxed and laid back.  Are there any locals in this photo, besides the guy in the tie?

Is Tim Horton’s coffee really, really good?  I can smell the aroma from here.  🙂

Carol said she’d come by and try to answer my questions.  If you’re curious, too, come back by and see her answers.  Carol is really funny and a life long New Yorker.

David Harp’s area of interest and expertise lies in teaching individuals and groups how to consciously control the neurological process known as “The Fight or Flight Response,” which produces the emotions of Fear and Anger.

His 20+ books now include a recent book aimed at therapists: Neural Path Therapy: How to Change Your Brain’s Response to Anger, Fear, Pain, and Desire! and the new, completely revised Fifth Edition of The Three Minute Meditator. Source:  www.davidharp.com

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 10:38:15

    This is great, Beth! I like learning about New York from Carol.
    Greqt take on a street scene. My eye goes right to that lady with her hand on her hip. I can not imagine you being afraid to paint some things as you do such a good job of making a photo reference your own! Fun post, Beth!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 08, 2012 @ 11:49:32

      Thanks, Leslie! I really enjoyed Carol filling in the blanks, too. She is a fun friend. I was thinking about the ladies of the evening you painted, wishing I could do people like that. I had a great time doing these people and I liked the lamp post. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Carol King
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 09:16:27

    Well Beth, you did a magnificent job on your painting. I like your ability to just take important elements of a reference photo and then make the painting your own.

    My only critique would be your street should be a bit darker, grittier. But I know there’s a little bit of Beth in your painting and it can’t help but look sunny and bright. Just like you.

    I will try to answer your questions as best I can:

    Do they really put tables and chairs out in the middle of the street? Or maybe this is like a food court in a mall…. give the people a convenient place to eat and gawk without getting hurt.

    OUR WONDERFUL MAYOR (THAT IS TO BE READ SARCASTICALLY) HAS DECIDED TO CHANGE MANY TRAFFIC PATTERNS AND CREATE PEDESTRIAN MALLS IN THE MIDDLE OF SOME VERY BUYS STREETS. LIKE IN TIMES SQUARE. WHERE YOU CAN SIT AND WATCH THE PEOPLE GO BY. I DO NOT SIT THERE BECAUSE I DO NOT TRUST TAXIS. THEY WILL RUN YOU DOWN NO MATTER WHAT.

    Do they really surf there? Is this not reserved for the west coast?

    NEW YORK CITY IS MADE UP OF 5 BOROUGHS, 4 OF WHICH ARE ON ISLANDS. YES, PEOPLE SURF HERE. MOSTLY IN THE ROCKAWAY BEACH AREA IN QUEENS. WE ALSO KAYAK, JETSKI AND DO OTHER WATER SPORTS. WELL, NOT ME. OTHER PEOPLE.

    I see it is really clean. I like that. Is all of New York City this clean?

    HMMMM, IS IT REALLY CLEAN? THAT’S A TOUGH ONE. IT’S CLEANER THAN IT WAS. AND MANY TOURIST AREAS HAVE BEEN CLEANED. BUT IS IT CLEAN LIKE OTHER CITIES. NO. IS IT REALLY CLEAN? NO.

    There are many ladies alone in this photo. Is it really that safe? Most of us have a scarier vision of New York City, I think.

    I HAD TO LAUGH AT THIS ONE. YES, WE CAN WALK ALONE. I WALK ALONE ALL THE TIME. I TAKE THE SUBWAY BY MYSELF TO AND FROM WORK, I COME HOME LATE AFTER THEATRE OR ART CLASSES BY MYSELF ON THE SUBWAY. I THEN HAVE TO WALK ABOUT 10 MINUTES TO MY APARTMENT FROM THE SUBWAY. NYC IS ONE OF THE SAFEST BIG CITIES IN THE US.

    KFC… really? I thought New York City was too cosmopolitan for KFC.

    NAH, WE’RE STILL PART OF THE U.S. AND ALL THE JUNK FOOD THAT GOES WITH IT. ALTHOUGH I CAN’T REMEMBER THE LAST TIME I ATE AT A FAST FOOD RESTAURANT. TOO MANY OTHER GOOD PLACES TO EAT.

    Everybody seems so relaxed and laid back. Are there any locals in this photo, besides the guy in the tie?

    I’M GUESSING THERE ARE NO LOCALS IN THIS PHOTO. IF THERE WERE, THEY WOULD BE WEARING BLACK AND WALKING QUICKLY TO WHEREVER THEY WERE GOING. THIS PHOTO LOOKS LIKE THEY ARE ALL TOURISTS.

    Is Tim Horton’s coffee really, really good? I can smell the aroma from here.

    TIM HORTON IS RELATIVELY NEW IN THE CITY. IT COMES FROM CANADA. I USUALLY JUST GET COFFEE FROM THE STREET VENDORS. I DO NOT LIKE STARBUCKS.

    I HOPE THIS HELPS. Carol

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 07, 2012 @ 10:42:09

      I loved all your answers, Carol! How fun it must be to live in such a vibrant city. One of these days, I’m gonna come visit you, so please remember to give me the list of don’ts so I don’t get hurt or run down by a taxi. Thanks so much for taking the time to answer my silly questions. By the way, it’s been years since I ate fast food… except ice cream that is. I have a little addiction to ice cream. ((hugs)) 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment