Ralphie – Frog Painting

“The art of living lies less in eliminating our troubles than in growing with them.”
– Bernard Baruch

Ralphie

2.5″ x 3.5″ Watercolor & Gouache ATC

He seems to be saying, “so… you look like you have  never seen a frog pee before? Would you mind?”  he he he 😉

I’m heading to Muskogee in a few minutes to fly.  I am doing the part of my training where they put special glasses on you so that you can’t see out of the plane.  You fly by the instruments only and it is really disorienting.  I still need 1.5 hours of it and they just have you do it 30 minutes at a time.  Not my favorite part of flight training.  I’ve already done 1.5 hours and it’s not getting easier.  Maybe today, it’ll click.  🙂

See you tomorrow!  *wave*

About Bernard Baruch

The American financier and unofficial presidential adviser Bernard Baruch was known as the “Park Bench Statesman” for his penchant for taking meetings on park benches. He was born in 1870 in South Carolina. By the time he was 30, he had become a millionaire. During World War I, Woodrow Wilson asked Baruch’s advice on economic issues, which began a long-term relationship with the White House. He refused to become Treasury Secretary in FDR’s cabinet, preferring his unofficial role. He died in 1965.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: A few more Non PC jokes…. « Dear England
  2. asmalltowndad
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 08:27:56

    I believe it would be more like… OH HELL NO! LOL

    Reply

  3. Lindy Gruger Hanson
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 22:00:32

    Happy New Year Beth. Love the froggie.

    Good luck with the flying too!

    Reply

  4. debbyfriselladesigns
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 18:31:41

    Beth, your frog paintings are so cute and vibrant! I love how you have a different personality for each one of them. I love how you have this frog peeking through the grass! 🙂

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jan 06, 2011 @ 08:55:29

      Aw, Thanks, Debbie! I really did give each little frog a name that seemed to go with the personality that developed while I was painting them. Fun project!

      Reply

  5. debbieadamart
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 12:47:38

    Everyday when I turn on my computer I have been seeing a new frog. They really give me a smile you know. When stop painting these little guys I’ll miss them.
    Great Frog! and yes, do have a safe flight!

    Reply

  6. Joan T
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 11:16:01

    Fun froggies!!! Have a safe flight!!!

    Reply

  7. Alex Zonis
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 11:09:18

    Too cute!

    Reply

  8. asmalltowndad
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 09:44:45

    Be safe, the frog world needs you! And so do your blog buds.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jan 05, 2011 @ 12:34:43

      Thanks, Ryan! When I get my license, I need to take your daughter up to take photos. Wouldn’t that be cool? (I hear you saying…. not MY daughter!!) he he 😀

      Reply

  9. lesliepaints
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 09:30:27

    I like this frog. I also liked that you built up the bumps on him and really payed attention to how the light fell on them.
    What you are doing in flight training is so interesting; learning to fly by the tools they give you might be wise if you find yourself in blinding weather. It’s kind of like blind drawing, you can’t look at the surface you are drawing on (or flying over) but need to find a feel for it. Cool.

    Reply

Leave a comment