What do I do with a box of fish?

Hi my friends!

Yes, it’s been a very long time since I have published a blog post.  My brain was trying to wrap itself around the need to be out there with my art and the need to keep some of it hidden away to keep it safe.

I have been doing a lot of painting for the Art Licensing business and I’ve been keeping much of that art under wraps a bit.

One November day, I decided to put all of that aside and paint for pure joy.  For me.  In acrylic.  On wood.

Next thing I know, I am out in my work shop (here at Signs by Beth) cutting fish out of wood.  My Jig saw was so comfortable in my hand!  I was having a ball.

Loving my Jig Saw

Loving my Jig Saw

Well, the first 4 fish I finished sold within 4 hours after taking them to the gallery (Our Favorite Place) and posting them on Facebook.  So I started painting more fish.

You can probably guess where this is going.  No more fish sold.  Christmas is over.  I now have a lovely box of fish.

Box of Fish sm

I have been getting creative, when I have time.  Here’s one that I painted the back side with my 2015 “Intention” word.  It’s hanging in the sign shop.

Believe 1 sm

If you want to share any ideas, like Betty at Our Favorite Place, who suggested a mobile with little fish dangling below, I would welcome your ideas.  I have thought of putting hooks at the bottom for keys or pegs for hanging stuff.

Let’s have some fun with this.  I’ll share more photos, too.  If you are a blog subscriber and I make something with your idea and it sells, I’ll send a free surprise gift.

Thanks for reading my blog!  If you want to subscribe, just click the sign me up button on the right.  I just saw that I have 999 people following me.  Can we make it a cool 1000?

-Beth

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Jan 26, 2015 @ 13:57:45

    Beth!!!!! Hello, Happy New Year and welcome back. You were missed. I hope you start posting a little more frequently than (almost) annually. 🙂

    Love the fish. Make a mobile out of them. Love the other suggestions too!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jan 26, 2015 @ 16:04:48

      Carol!!!!! Thanks so much for your comment and I really do need to get back here more often. I’m going to try for once or twice a week. (It used to be 5 days a week!) I love the art you’ve been posting. 🙂

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Jan 17, 2015 @ 13:37:39

    I like that idea of the hooks on the bottom. You could write “Hooked on You” on the fish like that “Believe” one you featured above. Great to read a post from you after all this time, Beth!

    Reply

  3. just4crafters
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 18:33:13

    Congrats on all your subscribers and the art licensing too!!! That’s wonderful news 🙂 Love the fish!!! Fabulous!!! You could create a hanging mobile of 2 or 3 fish in different sizes. This would be a cool piece of art to have hanging in your patio. All the best ~Sophia

    Reply

  4. May Moore
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 17:31:31

    I do not know where my comment went, out is cyber space some place, I guess. A thought I had is that you have a lake there. Is there a store at the marina? I would think it would be a great place to sell there. Love where you wrote BELIEVE on it too. Another place that is good to sell something like these are at flee markets. I am glad you are posting on here again. I do not think I get your newsletter though, so will sign up for it. Hope your fish go swimming away quickly.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jan 16, 2015 @ 08:53:21

      Thanks, Mary! I am limited to where I can sell them here in town, as I am under contract with the gallery. If I sell one at the sign shop, I still give them their commission, to be honest and keep my karma good. 🙂

      I haven’t been writing the newsletter lately, but I’m getting ready to start back up. I made them fun to read, so they were well received. So good to “see” you!

      Reply

  5. bilomathews2013
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 10:54:20

    I have a thought for you: your fish with the “believe” hand painted on it might sell at a store selling religious items. It is a very appropriate religious symbol for Christians.

    Reply

  6. Joan Smith
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 10:52:14

    I like the hooks idea. I wouldn’t do anything with some of them as they will prob. sell like hot cakes when fishing season officially starts. Also, Beth, I couldn’t find the button to push to subscribe, but maybe I already do. Can you check this out for me. Love you, my daughter, Joan

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jan 15, 2015 @ 11:09:42

      Joan,
      If you got this blog post in your email, you are already subscribed. Yay! If you came to it through facebook, you would need to subscribe. I hope you’re right about summer. By the way, I sure do love my bright red frilly scarf!!! I wear it a lot when it’s cold out! Love you!

      Reply

  7. Bonnie
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 10:44:40

    glad to see your blog back and I love your fish, congrats on the art licensing business too, you work hard

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jan 15, 2015 @ 11:11:23

      Thanks, Bonnie! I’m going to try to keep it going. I’ve missed connecting with everybody. I never checked on sending a fish to Canada. Let me know if you are still interested and I’ll go see. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

