A Fly By – 4″ x 6″ Watercolor

.

“Always behave like a duck — keep calm and unruffled on the surface but paddle like the devil underneath.”
– Jacob Braude

.

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2013

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2013

.

A Fly By – 4″ x 6″ Watercolor

.

Of course I have to paint during airport layovers.  I filed this image away in my brain on the way to Denver, then started the painting while waiting for my flight to Idaho Falls.  I didn’t paint on the planes this trip because I was at the tail end of a good book.   I was reading The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini.  It was a really good read.  I finished it on the way from Idaho Falls to Denver and bought John Grisham’s new book, The Racketeer – A Novel, at the airport.   It’s really good, too!

.

I love books!  I hope to never have to go to an electronic reader, such as Kindle.  I’m pretty tired of electronic devices, by the time I curl up with a book.  There’s just something pure about that kind of joy.  🙂

.

About Jacob Braude

American judge and author Jacob Braude was a fount of humorous and inspirational stories and quotations, which he used to regale the courtroom in Cook County, Illinois, where he presided for more that 35 years. His books of sayings, including Speaker’s Encyclopedia of Humor and Braude’s Treasury of Wit and Humor, have been mined by toastmasters and lecturers for decades. He was born in 1896 and died in 1970.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 08:18:06

    I love these landscapes of yours. Like Leslie said, they are so you!. I have a kindle which is great for traveling because I can take a number of books with me and now that I figured out how to download books from the public library onto my kindle I can get even more books. Yippee. But I’m reading a “real” and not electronic book and there is something so much better about hold the book and turning the real pages.

    If you want another recommendation (even though I’m only on chapter 5) the book is “DROP DEAD HEALTHY” by A.J. Jacobs and is very funny. He’s on a quest to become the healthiest he can be.

    Reply

  2. just4crafters
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 14:53:30

    Love it!!! I’m with you on that. There’s nothing like reading a real book 🙂 Reading books on a Kindle just isn’t the same. ~Sophia

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 07:54:20

    This painting is so YOU! I love the color and the pattern and have seen this scene many times in flights across the country to visit my parents over the years.
    Books? I’m with you! I, too, enjoyed “The Kite Runner”, Beth. I am currently reading “Flight Behavior” by Barbara Kingsolver and can’t turn the pages fast enough.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

