I really want to know….

.

“They always say time changes things, but you actually have to change them yourself.”
– Andy Warhol

.

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2013

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2013

Eufaula Postcard Possibility

.

Seriously… I’d love to know if this works.  I am playing with the idea of my art layered with actual photographs.  Tomorrow, I’ll show you another one.  I’m thinking the bright colored one here, with a sailing photo behind it.

.

I am officially a short timer.  I leave for my Idaho trip on Thursday.  I thought I might be goofing off a little this week, but my sign shop customers had a different idea.  It was crazy in here yesterday.  I’ll certainly be ready for a rest.  🙂

.

About Andy Warhol

Andy Warhol, the American pop artist, is probably best known for his silk screens of Campbell Soup and Marilyn Monroe. He was born as Andrew Warhola in Pittsburgh in 1928. His style borrowed from comic books and advertising; he wanted to remove the separation between commercial and fine art. His studio, the Factory, became a hub for the New York art scene. He was also a prolific filmmaker. He was shot three times in the chest in 1968 and narrowly escaped death. He died in 1987.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. soul . to . earth
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 10:02:04

    Beth,
    I’m not an artist but this looks trés funky. Ever thought of creating a font with your building style lettering? [Sorry, I don’t know how this is done, not that tech-savvy.] I’ve seen so many funky fonts (and doodles) in all shapes and sizes. Your style would look great on digital scrapbooks, photos, anywhere.

    Your sketches have ‘happy’ built into all of them…..thanks, the world needs more of it! 😀 Me likes.
    Radhika

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Oct 04, 2013 @ 10:45:04

      Thanks so much, Radhika! I believe the world needs all the happy it can get. When I receive a comment like yours, it confirms that what I am trying to do is working! Makes me so happy!!!! Have a great day!

      Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 19:41:12

    This looks really neat! Why not try some more of them? There’s probably a lot of ways to do it and no reason you can’t try them all. 🙂

    Reply

  3. 47whitebuffalo
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 13:45:56

    Beth, may I ask where this photo was taken? It reminds me of Baker, Oregon–if my memory is playing nice with names. The street looks very WIDE and that domed building in the back looks familiar–but I’m not certain. I am haveing trouble reading the name of the town–yet I do like the design notion. Without your side notation of Eufaula I’d be lost. It could just be how I am seeing. Not sure. I’d like to see another for sake of comparison.
    Hell. Get a good rest when you can! Have some fun!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 21, 2013 @ 07:33:22

      Hi whitebuffalo! The photo is our very own downtown Eufaula, OK. I do agree about not being able to read the word Eufaula. I think if I do that again, I will draw it much larger and make the word outline stronger. I played with it off and on for a week. I kept setting it aside as something that wasn’t working. This version will hit the trash, but the concept just may resurface.

      I do plan a good rest and a bit of fun. I need it! 😀

      Reply

  4. just4crafters
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 10:31:40

    I like the buildings in the shapes of letters. Very unique 🙂 ~Sophia

    Reply

  5. Carol King
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 08:56:14

    Hi Beth, I think this is a great idea. I really love it and think it will be successful if you are planning to sell these cards in the local shops. I like seeing your artwork against the town as a background.

    enjoy your trip to Idaho. sounds like you need a vacation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

