Turkey Twins Go Exploring

“Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear — not absence of fear.”
– Mark Twain

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2013

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2013

Turkey Twins Go Exploring

Another one from the archives.  It’s amazing how many varieties of birds I can find when I search through my paintings.   I hope you enjoy them, while I work on current art.

I had twin Banny Roosters once.    Darrell and his other brother Darrell.  They were  really little, but put huge fear in grown men.  They were very protective of me and would chase strange men (like the plumber or phone man) all around the yard.  They were hilarious!!

I love doing my blog every weekday.  I started doing this in 2007 and it’s just a part of my daily routine.  I need to start my day with a positive thought.  It stays with me all day.  I really appreciate those of you who take the time to click on your email message and come visit.  You are the best!!!

About Mark Twain

Samuel Clemens, the iconic American humorist and writer, is better known by his pen name Mark Twain. He was born in 1835 in Missouri. He worked at several jobs, including steamboat pilot and miner. He wrote The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, The Prince and the Pauper, and other successful novels. His writing captured a very American vernacular and flavor, and helped create a distinctive American literature. He died in 1910.

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ambiguous Artistry
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 10:43:17

    I love the quote, Beth. My personal belief is that we need to accept all emotions we feel, as they are there for a purpose. That being said, we don’t need to let them dictate our lives.
    These are two beautiful turkeys, much less scary than the real ones (Ok, I’ve only had limited exposure to turkeys, but the ones I have been around have been scary).

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jun 26, 2013 @ 07:19:58

      Thanks so much! I agree with you! In an attempt to stifle some emotions, things may get lost in translation to our brains. Does that make sense? We have turkeys in our neighborhood (way out in the boonies) sometimes and I love watching them. They are really huge, though. I wouldn’t want one of them mad at me. 🙂

      Reply

      • Ambiguous Artistry
        Jun 26, 2013 @ 08:32:45

        That does make sense. I think we also put too much pressure on ourselves to be happy, when life is full of many emotions which make us truly appreciate the moments of genuine happiness.
        I imagine they must be nice to watch, I saw quite a large turkey on a school trip which seemed to chase people, so that’s has probably impacted on my impression of turkeys.

      • Beth Parker
        Jun 27, 2013 @ 06:42:46

        I used to have 2 little banny roosters (Darrell & his other brother Darrell) that were only about 10″ tall and they chased strange me, like the phone guy or the plumber. It was hilarious!!!

  2. Carol King
    Jun 23, 2013 @ 20:23:19

    Darryl and his other brother Darryl! LOL! Love the pink birds.

    Reply

  3. joantav
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 16:24:38

    Your turkeys have been busy lately!! These last few are great. Sorry you had problems with your computer. We get so used to being able to do things on the computer that we’re out of sorts when we can’t use it.

    Reply

  4. Cindy D.
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 12:43:18

    HAHA I don’t know why I wrote chickens! I totally meant turkeys. (This is a sign of aging, right?) 😛

    Reply

  5. Cindy D.
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 12:42:39

    Haha! Pink chickens! In heels! Your story about the protective roosters is hilarious. And really, I don’t usually get over here every day, but lots of days, still. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

