Church in Salina, KS – Ink so far

“Become so wrapped up in something that you forget to be afraid.”
Lady Bird Johnson

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2013

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2013

Church in Salina, KS – 8″ x 10″ Ink

This is the painting I’m working on now.  Many, many times, while working on this, I found myself saying out loud… “What was I thinking?”  Can you imagine how smart the architects had to be to design this building?  I’m trying to decide whether to add the bricks…. in some fashion or another.  It would really add to the painting, but it would make me go insane!  Hmmmmm…. what to do.   Maybe I should read Lady Bird Johnson’s quote again.  😀

I am painting this from a photo by Suzanne Wallick at Paint My Photo.

You can see the finished painting here.

About Lady Bird Johnson

Claudia Alta “Lady Bird” Johnson, the wife of President Lyndon Johnson, is known for her concern for the environment. She was born in Texas in 1912. Johnson asked her to marry him seven weeks after they met. She supported his career by keeping his congressional office running after his heart attack, stumping for Democratic candidates, and visiting 33 countries as his emissary. She founded the Wildflower Research Center and worked to pass the Highway Beautification Act. She lived in Texas until her death in July 2007.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne J. Wallick
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 07:09:07

    Hi, Beth!!! I was checking things out on google, and found you here…love seeing the painting of the Salina Church that you painted from my photo…haven’t seen you lately on PMP….hope you didn’t leave us!!!! I love your work….and will have to “follow” you from now on!! 😉 Have a great weekend!!! ~~~Suzanne

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 10, 2014 @ 07:03:11

      Hi Suzanne! Thanks so much! I do love PMP, but I have so many irons in the fire. Right now I’m taking a Photoshop class & an art licensing class, on top of my busy sign shop work. Being in my brain is like being on the internet with 30 tabs open. 🙂 I’m sure I’ll be back when things settle down a bit. Have a wonderful day!

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 10:34:37

    Answer? Don’t go insane!
    Am looking forward to this one in color. You rock!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jan 16, 2013 @ 11:06:46

      Thanks, Leslie! I let it sit in the studio for a week…. trying to decide. I am in the process of adding bricks now. The colors are gold, orange and pink. (for the most part) 🙂

      Reply

  3. afternoonartist
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 17:42:26

    It’s such a lovely drawing; I think the bricks would make it really special. But either way I love it,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

