Kansas City Autumn Cityscape

“Action is the antidote to despair.”
Joan Baez

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2013

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2013

Kansas City Autumn Cityscape – 8″ x 10″ Watercolor & Ink

Yes… it’s another Kansas City skyline.  I did two more over the weekend, as I stayed home with a sick hubby.  I even got a good start on a third.  I have a couple Salina, KS paintings coming.  They are more focused on a single building vs a cityscape.

What do you think of the sky in this one?  Trying something different.  🙂

About Joan Baez

American singer Joan Baez, known for her clear soprano and her belief in music as a tool for change, is widely considered the godmother of modern folk-rock. She was born in New York in 1941. She is an ardent activist, working for civil rights, nonviolence, and worker’s rights. She received the ACLU’s Earl Warren Award for her commitment to international human rights and, at the 2007 Grammy’s, was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Her music includes the chart-topping version of “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down” and the album Diamonds and Rust. She has one son.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. afternoonartist
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 22:29:18

    Amazing, Beth. Love the fall trees and the wavy sky is spectacular.

    Reply

  2. Linda Halcomb
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 10:49:40

    I love the way you handled the sky – very creative and shows such movement. Also admire the foreground trees – gorgeous autumn color!

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 16:12:32

    There are those wonderful moving buildings again. This time it looks like they are swaying to a fall breeze and there are ribbons of clouds waving. Beautiful!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jan 07, 2013 @ 18:09:12

      Thanks, Leslie! When people strive for movement in a painting…. they have no idea a steel and concrete structure can be swaying (or dancing) with movement. Fun!!!

      Reply

  4. SL Scheibe
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 14:51:39

    Oh wow! This is seriously gorgeous! I popped in here from a link on another blog and saw this beauty. I love the way the big bold reds and oranges play against the busier, colder city. Really nice.

    Reply

  5. Cindy D
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 08:49:12

    Another really cool one! The buildings are terrific! Every time I see some of your slightly crazy, leaning buildings, I think of the David Tennant Doctor Who and his explanation of time travel as “timey-wimey”.

    So I don’t think I would recognize any skylines (except New York I suppose), but I probably should. And I should at least memorize Chicago too, since I live so close. Maybe I’ll go find some pictures. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

