Church in Switzerland

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

“The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.”
Chinese Proverb

Church in Switzerland –  4″ x 6″ Watercolor & Purple Prismacolor Chisel Marker

“A street and church in Fabian’s home village.” is what Wendy (Sundiver) at WetCanvas said about the photo when she posted it for us to paint from.    She also said… “For those of you who wish a challenge, here’s one: Take any aspect, such as colour, shape, value, rhythm, contrast, etc (or any combination of these) and push them farther into abstraction than you usually do.  Some of the mountain scenes I saw made me think of the work of Stephen Quiller , for example.”

So… I painted it in a manner similar to Stephen Quiller, who’s work I love.  🙂

I think I like black outlines better than purple though.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Dec 06, 2012 @ 11:43:15

    Awesome quopte! The steeple is dancing. I like that.

    Reply

  2. afternoonartist
    Dec 06, 2012 @ 05:46:29

    The trees reminded me of fire, too. I like the crooked steeple and of course the fun colors.

    Reply

  3. joantav
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 11:56:34

    I have missed so much. I feel like I just took a tour of your town and passed some creatures too. Your paintings just make me smile!!! Thanks for sharing all of these. I hope you had a good birthday!

    Reply

  4. Carol King
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 10:18:56

    The church, the church, the church is on fire! (Sung to the tune of “the roof, the roof, the roof is on fire.”) Actually the trees are on fire, but everything in this painting is so alive and vibrant. And ANOTHER great quote today.

    Reply

  5. Cindy D
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 08:51:31

    Haha great proverb! The colors are so interesting in this one! At first glance I thought they were trees of flame. Definitely a magical looking land, (though I may prefer black outlines too – sometimes!) 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

