Foley Mansion – An Artist’s View

“When it comes to life, the critical thing is whether you take things for granted or take them with gratitude.”
G.K. Chesterton

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Foley Mansion – An Artist’s View – 8″ x 10″ Watercolor & Ink

The Foley Mansion was built in 1901 and burned in 1962, here in Eufaula, OK.  Since I was unable to find out what color it was for sure, I took the advise of fellow blogger Jill (afternoonartist.wordpress.com) and researched colors that were widely used in that period.    I am thrilled with how it looks, but the hubby thought I should have been more diligent in my search for the actual color of the mansion.  Since I painted this for pleasure and it wasn’t commissioned… I like it this way.   🙂

Gilbert Keith Chesterton (1874-1936) cannot be summed up in one sentence. Nor in one paragraph. In fact, in spite of the fine biographies that have been written of him, he has never been captured between the covers of one book. But rather than waiting to separate the goats from the sheep, let’s just come right out and say it: G.K. Chesterton was the best writer of the 20th century. He said something about everything and he said it better than anybody else. But he was no mere wordsmith. He was very good at expressing himself, but more importantly, he had something very good to express. The reason he was the greatest writer of the 20th century was because he was also the greatest thinker of the 20th century.  More here…

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. afternoonartist
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 00:11:45

    This is beautiful, Beth. I love the lattice under the porch, the porch rails, the potted plants, and hanging plants under the eaves. And the color scheme is perfect.

    Reply

  2. Harmony
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 12:29:08

    Beth, I check out your work everyday. I just LOVE IT. I wonder if there is any way you teach or offer online courses?

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Nov 08, 2012 @ 14:38:35

      Hi Harmony! Thank you very much. I don’t teach or offer courses because I run a very busy sign shop and only have time to paint between 5 and 6 in the morning, before work. But thank you so much for asking and I’m so happy you like my blog. 🙂

      Reply

      • Harmony
        Nov 12, 2012 @ 19:04:16

        But you sell your work? Or do you do this only for fun??? I just can’t believe you have only an hour a day. You are just amazing.

      • Beth Parker
        Nov 13, 2012 @ 07:39:44

        Wow! Thanks, Harmony! Yes, I do sell my work. I have art in Our Favorite Place and I do commissions. All these little paintings have been accumulating lately. I need to get them matted and over to the gallery one of these days. Life is so busy and so fun!!! Thanks again!

  3. Cindy D
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 12:22:05

    You know I love the details! The balconies and planters and decorative trim, so cool! Maybe one of my favorites too! Love the color. Much better than white. 🙂

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 12:00:48

    OMG!!!! This is beautiful, Beth! Composition, color, everything!

    Reply

  5. just4crafters
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 09:07:19

    Beautiful painting Beth!!! I love the curtains in the window. Gorgeous home! ~Sophia

    Reply

  6. Bonnie
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 08:38:00

    this is the best one yet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

