Little Pink House – A Barbados Portrait

“Inspiration is a guest that does not willingly visit the lazy.”
– Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Little Pink House – 24″ x 48″ Acrylic Painting

Saturday was a wonderful day!  I happened to be hanging out at Our Favorite Place, a gallery where I have paintings, when this painting sold!  Yay!!!

I was commissioned to paint this one, then before I even started it, the lady fell into an unexpected financial bind and I let her out of the commitment.  I decided to paint it anyway, to stretch my wings and paint large.  It’s from a photo of a little pink house in Barbados.  I have always loved it and am tickled that it is now loved by someone new.  I feel very blessed!  🙂

About Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, the Russian classical composer best known for the Nutcracker and Swan Lake ballets, was renowned for his passionate melodies and for bringing Western music into the Russian tradition. He was born in Kamsko-Votkinsk in 1840. He taught music until a widow offered her financial patronage, then retired to the country to compose full time. He never met his benefactor. He died in 1893, just after the first performance of his Sixth Symphony, the “Pathétique.”

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 09:47:29

    See, I meant to leave a note yesterday. Instead I just marveled at it for a while before wandering off. Or someone came by my desk (at work). 😀

    Congratulations on the sale! Not knowing what you charged, I think you should have charged more! Haha. I love the effect the white outline, instead of black, has on the color. I’ve never head of anyone else using the chalk method, but clearly it works! And you make it sound less annoying than masking fluid must be.

    It has so much charm! I love the way the rocks and plants look in the yard. And the purple shadows. One of my favorites too probably!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Oct 10, 2012 @ 06:54:01

      Thanks, Cindy! I haven’t painted very many large ones, but I now need to do another to replace this one. 🙂

      I have no skill with masking fluid. The only time I ever tried it… most of it dried up in the bottle. This is a 2′ x 4′ canvas, too, so it would have taken a ton of it.

      Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 05:23:34

    beth, Beee-you-tee-ful! Did you paint the outline or use mask? I love this work…probably as much as anything you’ve done.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Oct 09, 2012 @ 06:55:16

      Awwww, thanks so much, Carol! That means a lot! I drew the lines on the canvas with chalk. Then, as I painted the underpainting, I just avoided those lines. Then I wiped off the chalk with a damp rag. Waalaa! Lines. 🙂

      Reply

  3. just4crafters
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 11:39:19

    Congrats Beth!!! That’s fantastic!!!!! I love the colors and how you outlined everything in white. Beautiful!!! ~Sophia

    Reply

  4. afternoonartist
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 08:39:22

    Omg, I totally love this painting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

