Doctor’s Building at McAlester Regional Hospital

“No great deed, private or public, has ever been undertaken in a bliss of certainty.”
– Leon Wieseltier

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Doctor’s Building at McAlester Regional Hospital – 4″ x 6″ Watercolor

I was in McAlester Monday and had 30 minutes to kill, so I drew this building on a little pad of 4″ x 6″ watercolor paper I had in my bag.  Then I painted it over the last couple mornings before work.  The ink is Prismacolor pen.  I have been using them more than Sharpie because I have more control and I have 5 sizes ranging from .01 to .08.  They are awesome!  🙂

About Leon Wieseltier

Leon Wieseltier, the sharp-tongued literary editor of The New Republic, has used his role to deliver brilliant, scathing put-downs of intellectual fads and pretense. He was born in Brooklyn in 1952. He studied Jewish history and philosophy at Columbia, Oxford, and Harvard’s Society of Fellows. He won the National Jewish Book Award for the memoir Kaddish, about his year of mourning after his father’s death.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 08:57:34

    I think it’s great that you can get this down in 30 minutes, Beth. I seem to have to go so slow. I don’t have that gift for “seeing” just the important things. My sight has to weed through all that for awhile. Great job on this.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:07:26

      Thanks so much for your comments, Leslie! I have been too busy to reply to comments lately. Right now I am supposed to be working on two 4′ x 16′ signs. If I had a boss, I would probably be getting in trouble about now. he he

      Reply

  2. just4crafters
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 10:07:12

    Fantastic painting Beth!!!! Love the bright and bold colors. What a great idea to carry your watercolor pad with you. You’ll never miss a moment like that! ~Sophia

    Reply

  3. Cindy D
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 08:10:25

    Cool! I love that structure in the middle and the colors you chose. Neat!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

