Paddle Boat 6″ x 8″ Watercolor and Prismacolor Pen

“Concentrate all your thoughts upon the work at hand. The sun’s rays do not burn until brought to a focus.”
– Alexander Graham Bell

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Paddle Boat 6″ x 8″ Watercolor and Prismacolor Pen

I painted this from a photo by mbeckett at WetCanvas.  I used a .01 Prismacolor Fine Liner to do the lines.  It was way too small to use a sharpie.

I worked on this the last couple mornings before work.  Coffee and art.  Ahhhhhhh!  Nothing better to start my day!

WordPress still won’t let me add tags.  I do have my visual editor back.  If anybody has a fix, can you let me know?

About Alexander Graham Bell

Scottish-Canadian inventor Alexander Graham Bell is credited with inventing the telephone; he also invented the metal detector, which he created hurriedly in an attempt to find the bullet that killed President James Garfield. He was born in 1847 in Edinburgh. He began as an elocutionist but began learning about acoustics to find a way to help his deaf mother. Other inventions include the telegraph and the phonograph. He also developed techniques to teach speech to the deaf. He died in 1922.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    May 25, 2012 @ 10:45:43

    It never ceases to amaze me how you get so much into such a small space. Beautiful!

    Reply

  2. just4crafters
    May 23, 2012 @ 09:46:44

    Great painting Beth! Love the blue-green colors. They make the red really pop! Sorry I can’t help with tags. But good luck with a resolution! ~Sophia

    Reply

  3. Cindy D
    May 23, 2012 @ 07:53:00

    Another wonderful boat! So cute! i always like your landscape shapes in the background with their many shades of green and shaded with a nice, light touch. I also like the three-quarter (just guessing here!) perspective on this. I’ve been realizing lately that most of my creatures are side view only, and I probably need to do some slightly more complex setups. (On the other hand, graduating to full bodies was a pretty good step since I’d only been doing heads!) 😀

    Yesterday’s flamingos were quite lovely as well (and the swirly background!). But oh my gosh it’s been so crazy at work. New general manager (jury’s still out), new phone system (not working so great), lawsuits from a terminated employee (so much drama) and a worker’s comp audit tomorrow. Haha, sometimes it’s very quiet being an office manager. Other times, less. So I feel your pain when you tell me how swamped you are at the sign shop (though I certainly hope there is less drama there)!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      May 24, 2012 @ 07:07:23

      Thanks, Cindy! I spent many years as an office manager. I know just what you’re talking about. When the drama hits, it hits all at once! I feel your pain! I hope you come out on the other side to a wonderful 3 day weekend. I am. 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

