Hitched for Illustration Friday – 4″ x 6″ Watercolor and Sharpie

“Allow me to assure you that suspicion and jealousy never did help any man in any situation.”
–Abe Lincoln

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Hitched for Illustration Friday – 4″ x 6″ Watercolor and Sharpie

The word of the week for Illustration Friday is “Hitched”.  I didn’t use any photo references for this one.  I just went with the happy little picture I had in my head.  I had a great time with this one.  The whole time I worked on it, I was in “the zone”.  Ya know what I mean?

This is what it looked like before I added the sharpie.

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Abe Lincoln

Abraham Lincoln is one of America’s greatest heroes because of his unique appeal. His is a remarkable story of the rise from humble beginnings to achieve the highest office in the land; then, a sudden and tragic death at a time when his country needed him most to complete the great task remaining before the nation. His distinctively human and humane personality and historical role as savior of the Union and emancipator of the slaves creates a legacy that endures. His eloquence of democracy, and his insistence that the Union was worth saving embody the ideals of self-government that all nations strive to achieve.

More on Abe Lincoln here.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thedoodlegirl
    May 09, 2012 @ 21:15:59

    REALLY nice work! I love the happy colors and fun line work. Well done!

    Reply

  2. Michele
    May 08, 2012 @ 11:39:11

    Fantastic! Beautiful! happy!

    Reply

  3. Katrin Seibel
    May 07, 2012 @ 22:59:26

    Very happy picture. I like the colours.

    Reply

  4. Jane Loedding
    May 07, 2012 @ 18:02:50

    Wow! This is great…the colors, your style…I just love it!

    Reply

  5. just4crafters
    May 07, 2012 @ 09:05:34

    Hi Beth! Love how this came out especially with the flowers at the bottom. Just beautiful!!! I like how the sharpie defines each image more. Great before and after photos! ~Sophia

    Reply

  6. Cindy D
    May 07, 2012 @ 08:00:14

    Ahhh, so cute! Love the bright colors and the flowers and the mountains. Hooray for hitting the zone! I do like it before the Sharpie, but I like the Sharpie version. I am always trying to figure out the best choice for an outline, too, (and I don’t always make the best decision!)

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      May 07, 2012 @ 08:20:12

      Awww, Thanks, Cindy! It was so fun to do. I think it’s the sharpie that gives it the illustrative quality, most of the time. I took the pre-sharpie photo in daylight and the after-sharpie picture was scanned. That changes the look, too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

