Do-Wa-Ditty Doodle Bookmarks – Watercolor & Sharpie

“Sometimes I think, the things we see
Are shadows of the things to be;
That what we plan, we build.”

–Phoebe Cary

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Do-Wa-Ditty Doodle Bookmarks – Watercolor & Sharpie

Saturday night, we attended a neighborhood dinner and my hubby had a couple (or three) margaritas.  I drank coffee.  Sunday morning I woke up with a headache.   (He didn’t, by the way.)  So… I was wanting something mindless to work on while waiting for the Aleve to kick in.   I had such a great time doing these!  I worked on them for hours!

Phoebe Cary (September 4, 1824 – July 31, 1871) was an American poet, and the younger sister of poet Alice Cary (1820–1871). The sisters co-published poems in 1849, and then each went on to publish volumes of her own. After their deaths in 1871, joint anthologies of the sisters’ unpublished poems were also compiled.

More here on Wikipedia.


8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. just4crafters
    May 03, 2012 @ 11:52:50

    These look like so much fun! It’s just amazing to see what’s created on paper when you allow the mind to wander! Fantastic colors and designs!!! ~Sophia

    Reply

  2. Pj Hornberger
    May 03, 2012 @ 08:59:02

    I can see how much fun these were. And to think they’re good for headaches/hangovers. lol I love all the detail you did. But I LOVE the name.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D
    May 03, 2012 @ 07:52:22

    Lovely! Love the colors! Looks like tons of fun to do. (Though I am sorry about the headache. Doesn’t it just figure?) I think I like the one on the right best, with the fiber-y background. Did you do the shadows as you went, or all together at the end? I think I usually do them as I go, and then do more at the end. (You should come see my new wombat! I didn’t like my last post but I like this one!) 😀

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      May 03, 2012 @ 10:11:12

      Thanks, Cindy! I did the shadows as I went, then added the mesh looking stuff after the shadows. Sometimes watercolor dulls the ink, so I like to do it last. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Bonnie
    May 03, 2012 @ 07:35:46

    WOW these are fantastic!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

