Alpaca Party – 4″ x 6″ Watercolor and Sharpie

“Our real blessings often appear to us in the shape of pains, losses and disappointments, but let us have patience and we soon shall see them in their proper figures.”
– Joseph Addison

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Alpaca Party – 4″ x 6″ Watercolor and Sharpie

While we’re on the subject of alpacas…. what shade of lipstick goes best on a pink and yellow alpaca?  Bright red, of course!  Nothing is off limits in art.  I can always find my inner goof-ball!  I have a very stressful, busy work life and art helps me not to take myself too seriously!  🙂

About Joseph Addison

English politician and writer Joseph Addison is remembered as a cofounder, along with his friend Richard Steele, of The Spectator, one of the first magazines to cover literature and manners. He was born in 1672 in Wiltshire. He spent four years traveling in Europe, studying politics and writing poetry, and became a Commissioner of Appeals on his return to England. His shyness made public office difficult. His most famous work is the play Cato, a tragedy about ancient Rome. He died in 1719.

 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 16:53:03

    Wow! The color in this is spectacular and I love that one curvey-necked parrot. He’s my favorite of the group!

    Reply

  2. Carol King
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 21:12:31

    This is fab! I love the composition and the color. You have such a whimsical sense of art. Which of course I love. I see I missed a number of posts, I will have to catch up.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 13:58:50

    Oh, I also wanted to ask you! I notice you and a few other folks answer every comment they receive. Does it make you mad/sad/indifferent when folks don’t answer your comments on their blogs? My method has been to directly answer comments when there is a specific question, and then to more generally post a thank you directed to all the commenters. And to visit them. Did you always answer all the comments? You’ve been at this much longer than me! (I was going to email this question. I hope you don’t mind me plopping it here in the comments!)

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 23, 2012 @ 07:02:03

      Cindy, I don’t get very many comments, so it’s easy to do. I love every single comment and am happy to respond, though realistically, I doubt many people come back to see if I responded. (I rarely go back to see if anyone replied to my comments on their blogs) I think it’s a personal thing. If I get too many one day, I may not have time to answer every one. I am just so incredibly happy that people take the time to let me know they like my art.

      Reply

  4. Cindy D.
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 13:55:35

    Wonderful colors and so much fun! I really like the sunset hues on that alpaca. The lipstick is an interesting choice (but perfect shade to match the hair!)

    Reply

  5. Kana Tyler
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 10:47:50

    You say you always find your inner goofball–but I don’t really believe you let her get lost in the first place! 😉

    Reply

  6. just4crafters
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 10:01:53

    Laughter is always the best medicine! Love this painting!!! Especially the hair-do and matching lips! Fabulous!!! ~Sophia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

