Puzzled – Watercolor & Sharpie – for Illustration Friday

“There is a sense of exhilaration that comes from facing head-on the hard truths and saying, ‘We will never give up. We will never capitulate. It might take a long time, but we will find a way to prevail.'”
– Jim Collins

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

 

 

Puzzled – 5.5″ x 8.5″ Watercolor & Sharpie – for Illustration Friday

Surely you have seen a giraffe of this sort… right?  he he  Well…. maybe in Bethville.  🙂

I did this little painting for Illustration Friday.  The theme word is “puzzled”.   I found a wonderful reference photo by jerri rose at WetCanvas, that made this a pure joy to paint.  Fun!  I would like to be able to do IF more often, because I really enjoyed it.

About Jim Collins

American business guru Jim Collins has written or cowritten four books, including the instant classic Built to Last, which spent more than six years on the Business Week best-seller list, and Good to Great: Why Some Companies Make the Leap…and Others Don’t, which became a New York Times best seller. He was raised in Boulder, Colorado. After seven years teaching at Stanford University’s business school, he founded a research laboratory to examine companies and why they succeed.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ritabarton
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 15:25:04

    I love this!

    Reply

  2. Creations By Mit
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 17:54:22

    Wonderfully vibrant colors, and such soulful eyes!

    Reply

  3. crazylady87
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 21:38:20

    Totally loving that background color and your face gradient from yellow to orange!

    Reply

  4. mx
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 19:57:50

    A definite YES to the puzzled giraffe! Love the whimsy in your work:-)

    Reply

  5. Cindy D.
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 15:47:32

    Hello! Such a cute giraffe in super great colors! I’m a little scared of red but I have been trying to include it recently, and this is the sort of bright, neat palette I like. So great how you worked in the puzzle pieces.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 16, 2012 @ 15:55:20

      Thanks, Cindy. I used red watercolor then came back with a dark orange on top of that and it really brightened it up. I had fun with this. Thanks for introducing me to IF! 🙂

      Reply

  6. Michele
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 10:00:01

    i really like this too!…beautiful colours. I have challenged myself to do the IF posts for a year! YIKES! it’s so much fun and others are so inspiring. like you!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 16, 2012 @ 10:38:26

      Thanks so much, Michelle! I can’t imagine committing for a whole year. I’m just posting my second one. Cindy from The Slumbering Herd got me started. It’s so fun!

      Reply

  7. just4crafters
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 08:05:34

    Great painting Beth!!! Love the eyes!!! ~Sophia

    Reply

  8. Alex Zonis
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 07:35:06

    OMG! So pretty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

