Seattle Skyline – 6″ x 8″ Watercolor & Sharpie

“You may never know what results come from your action. But if you do nothing, there will be no result.”
– Mahatma Gandhi

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Seattle Skyline – 6″ x 8″ Watercolor & Sharpie

Valri Ary posted a photo of Seattle’s skyline on WetCanvas.  Of course, I eliminated all the ships and barges docked up there.  And, okay…. I may have made the buildings a little more fun, but what’s the harm in that?  🙂

I drew the buildings, then laid down all the windows with itty bitty dabs of white acrylic, tinted with yellow or aqua.  When it was dry, I went in with watercolor.  This is why everything looks so pastel.  There’s a lot of little windows repelling the watercolor.  My own resist.  I almost didn’t add the sharpie, but gave in at the end.  I think I like it.

Still no work computer, so I spent part of the day adding wires to the backs of paintings I am taking to the new gallery this morning.  I’m a little nervous.  I have been in our little arts council gallery for quite a while and my work is selling there, but this one will be quite a different beast.  I understand that each artist will have their own bar code.   Hmmmm…. should be a fun learning experience, to say the least.   🙂

About Mahatma Gandhi

Mohandas Gandhi, known by the honorific title Mahatma (“great souled”), embodied the power of nonviolent protest to achieve great change. He was born in India in 1896 and awoke to discrimination while practicing law in South Africa. He brought the struggle for equality back to India, rousing the population to demand self-rule from the British. He was profoundly religious, spending one day a week in complete silence; he was also a devout vegetarian. He was assassinated in 1948.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zookyshirts
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 08:15:35

    I like your combination of Sharpie and watercolors — the bold outlines go nicely with the softness of the fill colors. And that’s a great quote, too.

    Reply

  2. Watercolor Artist
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 00:38:35

    BEAUTIFUL. I like this alot.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 17:03:03

    Lovely buildings! I love how you achieved that great look with the windows. All the shapes and colors are really nice. Did you take a picture before you sharpied? Or maybe next time? That’s so annoying about the work computer. And actually, nothing should take this many days. Are they from 1996 or something? ;P

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 24, 2012 @ 05:08:59

      Thanks, Cindy. I have to have different connections on my computer that they just don’t do as standard anymore. I have to have a floppy drive (yes… I really said that) because some of my old backup stuff is on floppy. I also have a plotter (the beast that cuts the vinyl) that requires a serial port or something like that??? I have been in business 20 years and technology keeps trying to make me obsolete. That’s why it takes so long. Motherboard was difficult to find. When I installed Windows 7 and Omega 4.0 sign software, in the fall, some of my computer components were still 6 years old. It’s all making my brain hurt, but I trust my computer guy. He built the system and has been my guru for a dozen years. **sigh**

      I forgot to take a photo before I sharpied. I should have. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Phyllis Dobbs
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 09:04:14

    Love the Seattle skyline in its whimsy form and the colors!!! And good luck with getting your computer back!

    Reply

  5. artblablablablog
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 07:51:00

    I used to live in Seattle. I think your painting feels like Seattle, I like it.

    Reply

  6. just4crafters
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 07:00:26

    Love this painting Beth!!!! What a great idea you have to use the acrylic paint as a resist. I’m gonna have to give that a try. Thanks for sharing!!! Have a fantastic weekend! ~Sophia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

