Down on the Boardwalk

Time is a dressmaker specializing in alterations.
–Faith Baldwin

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Down on the Boardwalk – 6″ x 12″ Acrylic on Gallery Wrapped Canvas (part of the new Bethville Series)

Funny story…  I was working on these paintings last weekend when we decided to run into town for a bit of breakfast.  We ate at I Smell Bacon, where it’s so crowded that you are often sharing a table with people you’ve never met.  Of course, my hubby has never known a stranger, so we were visiting away when he suddenly showed the people the green paint on my thumb and assured them that I can’t grow a single thing.  He he  Isn’t he cute.  🙂

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Faith Baldwin, (born Oct. 1, 1893, New Rochelle, N.Y., U.S.—died March 18, 1978, Norwalk, Conn.), American author, one of the most successful writers of light fiction in the 20th century, whose works targeted an audience of middle-class women.

Faith Baldwin attended private academies and finishing schools, and in 1914–16 she lived in Dresden, Germany. She married Hugh H. Cuthrell in 1920, and the next year she published her first novel, Mavis of Green Hill. Although she often claimed she did not care for authorship, her steady stream of books belies that claim; over the next 56 years she published more than 85 books, more than 60 of them novels with such titles as Those Difficult Years (1925), The Office Wife (1930), Babs and Mary Lou (1931), District Nurse (1932), Manhattan Nights (1937), and He Married a Doctor (1944). Her last completed novel, Adam’s Eden, appeared in 1977.

Typically, a Faith Baldwin book presents a highly simplified version of life among the wealthy. No matter what the difficulties, honour and goodness triumph, and hero and heroine are united. Evil, depravity, poverty, and sex found no place in her work, which she explicitly intended for the housewife and the working girl. The popularity of her writing was enormous. In 1936, in the midst of the Great Depression, she published five novels in magazine serial form and three earlier serials in volume form and saw four of her works made into motion pictures, for an income that year in excess of $315,000. She also wrote innumerable stories, articles, and newspaper columns, no less ephemeral than the novels.  Source:  http://www.britannica.com

Wow… 85 novels!  I’m impressed!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinalee999
    Mar 04, 2012 @ 06:15:16

    Looking better and better, Beth !

    Reply

  2. Carol King
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 08:52:07

    Your wrapped canvasses are great and so is Bethville. Looks to me like a great place to visit.

    Reply

  3. Pj Hornberger
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 12:35:59

    This is my favorite…so far. I love Bethville! What a great/fun/whimsical idea. Can’t wait to see some of the good folks of Bethville and their pets. This is FUN! The colors make me happy. thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  4. Joan T
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 10:34:19

    Beth, I just love these!!! They remind me of a very colorful version of those flat little houses that you can line up on a shelf to make a village scene. Do you know the ones I mean? These would look cool that way!

    Reply

  5. Cindy D
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 09:16:57

    I just love these wrapped canvases! Yesterday’s was totally adorable with lovely colors, but I think I like this one even more. I think it’s the quirky, happy little building shapes and even more colors in this one! The effect of the wrap around is very neat.

    As for that whole color thing, sometimes I want to limit myself to a few colors because I’ve seen so much cool art lately with limited palettes, but then I get carried away and add other color families. But once in a while I can stick to my original color story. 🙂

    Holy cow, crazy Faith Baldwin story. She probably provided a lot of escapism during a terrible time. Amazing success (although it does sound like she had a lot of privilege already).

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Feb 29, 2012 @ 09:42:50

      Awww, Thanks, Cindy! It is fun to be able to peek around the corners, isn’t it? I like my colors to be bold and contrasting, as much as possible, but it sure takes a lot of layers to get there. The next three will have a more limited palette I think. We’ll see if I am able to do it. 😀

      I got the word for Illustration Friday, but drew a blank on it. I can’t wait to see what you did with “capable”. That was the word, wasn’t it? You are so creative!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

