Valentine’s Dessert 5

“When we let go of our battles and open our hearts to things as they are, then we come to rest in the present moment. This is the beginning and end of spiritual practice.”
–Jack Kornfield

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Valentine’s Dessert 5 – 4.5″ x 4.5″ Watercolor

Just when you thought you were too full for any more dessert…. I spring the best one on ya!  he he   This is my favorite of all the desserts.  Are you dying to see the original tray of pastries I painted these from?  Let me see….  Oh, here it is.

Photo by Mo at WetCanvas - Betty's Tea Room in York, UK

Okay… now here are my versions….

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

How fun is that?  And to answer the question that must be swimming around in your head….  My only chemical influences are coffee and pure joy!  😀

Jack Kornfield is one of the leading Buddhist teachers in America. A practitioner for over 40 years, he is one of the key teachers to introduce mindfulness and vipassana meditation to the West. His approach emphasizes compassion, lovingkindness and the profound path of mindful presence, all offered in simple, accessible ways in his books, CD’s, classes and retreats.  Source: www. jackkornfield.com

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Join Jack Kornfield & Sylvia Boorstein on 4/11 « Namaste Consulting Inc.
  2. thewhiteswan
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 07:57:50

    Been enjoying your daily desserts Beth! Very fresh and pretty. Love how each plate has a different pattern. These are so sweet to look at.
    Karen

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 12:52:16

    You’re totally right, this is the best one. Those fruits are glowing! And they seem to be in some kind of angel or pound cake bowl which is also shining with some kind of sugary coating I’m sure. I also love this plate and doily the best, what a great colorful pattern!

    You know, I go back and forth about this whole art blog thing. The method you are using here, where you post one ACEO per day, is a good one. I often do ACEO’s in batches too, but then I just post several at once. The problem is if I have nothing new for several days I think darn, I could have split that last one up! To be honest, I also like to give each one a couple days so more people might see it, but I don’t know if that’s a good strategy, either. Most of my visitors are from Illustration Friday and mainly for those posts. So I guess what I’m saying is I still have no idea what I’m doing. ;D

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Feb 20, 2012 @ 08:04:30

      Thanks so much, Cindy! It was the first one I painted and the most fun. On the blog thing… I make it up as I go along, but I only get to paint on the weekends, so I try to paint 5 things (I paint small) to post Monday through Friday. When I don’t have enough, I post something from the archives or a peek at a work in progress…. like this week. I only got 3 paintings done, so I will post sneak peeks on Thursday and Friday. I worked on three acrylic paintings for my new gallery I’m going to show in. They are much slower and took up most of my painting time last weekend and they are FAR from being finished. Layer after layer after layer on those babies.

      I went over and peeked at that Illustration Friday thing and couldn’t figure out how to play.

      Reply

      • Cindy D
        Feb 20, 2012 @ 08:57:34

        On this page: http://illustrationfriday.com/?medium=0
        On the left side there is a column that shows this week’s topic. Under that is says “Did you illustrate this topic?” and “Enter Your Link”. You will need to have made a blog post with your entry and to mention Illustration Friday in the post. On the IF entry page you will need to enter your name (whatever you want to appear by your entry – some people use their blog name), and your email, and then for a specific address for the entry (not just your blog address, so if you were entering this blog post it would be: https://bethparkerart.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/valentines-dessert-5/).

        You will also need a thumbnail of the image, size 50 pixels x 50 pixels. I think this one is important because with 300+ entries, some folks choose which to visit by the thumbnail, and some entries don’t show one because they didn’t enter it correctly. (I think I will add a little tutorial on how to make a thumbnail with next week’s entry post.) Feel free to ask if you have a question! 😀

      • Beth Parker
        Feb 20, 2012 @ 09:06:43

        Thanks so much for explaining it, Cindy. I’m going to go have another look. It just sounds fun!!

  4. asmalltowndad
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 09:19:02

    Beth, I’m gaining weight just reading your blog, could your next few paintings be veggies or fish, I need to drop a few pounds!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

