Winter Wheat

Happiness is not a destination. It is a method of life.
–Burton Hillis

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2012

Winter Wheat – 6″ x 6″ Watercolor & Sharpie

I saw a black and white photo of a tractor in the midst of some Kansas winter wheat crops in a newspaper and it spoke to me.  This is what came from my brain, while thinking about the wonderful winter wheat crops in Oklahoma.  When we drive from Eufaula to Oklahoma City, I love seeing those bright green fields of color, surrounded by all that is a dull wintery brown.  This is going to be a larger acrylic painting.

Burton Hillis seems to be an elusive fellow.  I couldn’t find much of anything on him.  I did find the statement below, which I like very much… even if I can’t whistle.   Hey,  I can hum!   🙂

Burton Hillis speaks of whistling as an outlet for the joy and peace that well in the heart. Moreover, he strongly believes that one who whistles cannot be harboring any meanness or malice deep in his heart. Whoever hears an angry person whistle?

Read more: http://purpleslinky.com/humor/burton-hillis-and-others-on-whistling-and-humming/#ixzz1lzGLF1Ph
11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 15:50:04

    This will make a great larger painting, Beth. I am enjoying the composition. The bright red against the green, the strong diagonal that keeps my eye on the tractor and the wide open spaces of land.

    Reply

  2. Carol King
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 13:49:24

    I always like your rolling hills landscapes. This one is lovely.

    Reply

  3. Joan T
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 10:06:50

    How could I possibly have missed so many days and so much work???!!! I love this of the farm…the patterns on the earth always amaze me…and you did them so well. Your assortment of dogs is so fun…a normal one and then those flowery ones…so different! The comment on the shoes and seeing blue olives just cracked me up! You are too funny.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Feb 11, 2012 @ 17:38:50

      Thanks, Joan! I know how easy it is to miss traveling the blog circuit as often as you like. I am always amazed when I get by yours and see all that you have been doing. Thanks for coming by! 🙂

      Reply

  4. Bindu John
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 12:09:39

    Loved your style! Simple and cute..

    Reply

  5. Cindy D
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 09:05:44

    Wow, I really like those rolling hills. Happy bright colors, cute little hay rolls (bales?) and really nice trees. I envy folks who can put together nice scenery! I need to practice scenery because it has so many storytelling possibilities (much more than close-up animal faces – no matter how cute). But I suppose we have to start somewhere.

    Also, loved the cat you did with the Sharpie! (I prefer the dog but that is a species-bias not a drawing-bias. And it was a really nice perspective on the cat.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

