1950 Chevrolet Pickup

“We have a lamp inside of us, the lamp of mindfulness, which we can light anytime. The oil of that lamp is our breathing, our steps, and our peaceful smile. We have to light up that lamp of mindfulness so that light will shine out and the darkness will dissipate and cease. Our practice is to light up the lamp.”
–Thich Nhat Hanh

This quote is from my newest little book called Wrinkles Don’t Hurt – Daily meditations on the joy of aging mindfully. I am loving this book by Ruth Fishel, who also wrote another great one called A Time For Joy.

Copyright Beth Parker Art 2011

1950 Chevrolet Pickup – 3″ x 4″ Watercolor

I am doing all these paintings with buildings in them and the streets are suspiciously empty.  I decided to practice painting vehicles, which I am terrible at.  I wouldn’t mind them so much if they didn’t have tires.  The perspective, shadows, placement, etc, of tires are just bewildering to me, as you can see in this little painting.  The front passenger side tire is in the wrong place somehow.  I like the rest of the truck, I think.  🙂

Thích Nhất Hạnh ( born October 11, 1926) is a Vietnamese Buddhist monk, teacher, author, poet and peace activist who now lives in France.  Born Nguyễn Xuân Bảo, Thích Nhất Hạnh joined a Zen (Vietnamese: Thiền) monastery at the age of 16, and studied Buddhism as a novitiate.  Upon his ordination as a monk in 1949, he assumed the Dharma name Thích Nhất Hạnh. Thích is an honorary family name used by all Vietnamese monks and nuns, meaning that they are part of the Shakya (Shakyamuni Buddha) clan.  He is often considered the most influential living figure in the lineage of Lâm Tế (Vietnamese Rinzai) Thiền, and perhaps also in Zen Buddhism as a whole.  From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debbyfriselladesigns
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 17:27:15

    I continue to love your paintings and your affirmations! This one hit home and is very true…once you turn that light on within it renews your strength, courage and self esteem to a new level. Sometimes we get so involved with life that we forget to turn that inner self on because, as a society, we love to help and give to others in which we would not do for ourselves at times. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Reply

  2. asmalltowndad
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 11:06:24

    First of all thank you for your card! never have I seen a elk with a bird on it’s head until now… brought a smile to my face. And now you paint the other love of my life, old trucks, especially the 40’s and 50’s versions. The big stylish fenders, white wall tires, big domed tops, someday I’ll own one of those beauties. I like the wheels, it give it movement, as though it’s coming around the corner a little to fast. Thanks again for the Christmas Card, and I hope you and your family have a great holiday!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Dec 15, 2011 @ 11:14:10

      Thanks, Ryan! My first husband and I had a 1950 Chevy pickup. I loved that old truck. We spent our honeymoon camped out in the back of it. Of course I was only 17 and he was a mere 23, so that was fun!

      Have a very Merry Christmas, Ryan!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

