4 Paws to the West – 8″ x 8″ Acrylic

“I have always believed that whatever good or bad fortune may come our way we can always give it meaning and transform it into something of value.”
– Hermann Hesse

I like that!

4 Paws to the West – 8″ x 8″ Acrylic on Black Gessoed Aquaboard

This is my favorite of the three acrylics I did from my 4 Paws vacation cabin.  I literally sat out in front of the cabin and sketched it with chalk onto the black aquaboard.  I took my artistic liberties, of course, but the view was that spectacular.   They are still doing the square bales there, and everybody had huge stacks of them, stored up for winter.  I’m sure people thought I was weird, taking photos of hay.  I just loved it!  😀

It was such an inspiring place to have my own private painting retreat.  I can’t wait to go back there!

Here are the progress shots…

I hope you have a wonderful Labor Day weekend.  Be safe.  🙂

About Hermann Hesse

Hermann Hesse, the Pulitzer Prize–winning German writer, became extremely popular in the 1960’s and 1970’s for his deeply spiritual novels spiked with Eastern philosophy. He is best known for the novels Siddhartha, The Glass Bead Game, and Steppenwolf. He was born in 1877 in Germany and immigrated to Switzerland in 1912. Hesse was exposed to Eastern thought from childhood: His grandfather taught Indian studies, and his mother had been born in India. He won the Noble Prize in Literature in 1946. He died in 1962.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Androgoth
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 15:28:00

    I wonder has anyone ever congratulated you on your inventive and most stylish page header? 🙂 well if not then I think that it’s a brilliant idea and you deserve some credit for your creativity, I especially like the dog that is busy thinking about love, perhaps it is a Dogs Valentine Day or something? 🙂 lol

    Have a wicked rest of day and evening Beth…

    Androgoth Xx

    Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 17:21:47

    Beth, this is fantastic. You have such a unique style. Have you ever thought about illustrating children’s books? You art is right up that alley! Fun, whimsical, colorful, charming, cheerful!

    Reply

  3. Androgoth
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 17:36:50

    I really like how you have added the previous parts of your painting, and as you progressed the painting became such a wonderful addition to your artistry, I like the colouring and your maestro signature of at least something pink in there really adds to the excitement of your work. Have a wonderful rest of day and a great evening also 🙂

    Androgoth Xx

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Sep 03, 2011 @ 06:19:41

      Thanks, Androgoth! You always say the nicest things! It makes me happy to read your comments. 🙂

      Reply

      • Androgoth
        Sep 03, 2011 @ 11:09:52

        You are very welcome Beth and do have a most delightful weekend filled with all the wonderful things that you enjoy the most 🙂 Wicked

        Androgoth Xx

Leave a Reply

