Travel Moose Postcard

“Remember there are no mistakes, only lessons.  Love yourself, trust your choices, and everything is possible.”
–Cheri Carter-Scott

Travel Moose Postcard – 4″ x 6″ Watercolor and Sharpie

Okay, I’ll fess up.  I did this one before I actually got to Idaho.  It was a travel moose.  I needed something that was portable and a little fun.  I have been noticing artists doing zentangles lately and thought I’d try my hand at it…  in a fashion.  All the watercolor came first, then a fine Sharpie was used to do the zentangle work.  The only ones I have ever seen were just black and white.  Did I do it right?

I didn’t really get to paint until half way through my vacation.  The first half was all about spending time with family.  I can’t tell you how long it’s been since my brother, sister, mother and I were all together at once.  I think it had to be in the 80’s.  I saw all of them in 2009, but not together.  I was lucky enough to travel to Oak Harbor, Washington and Blackfoot, Idaho that fall, to spend time with them.  The last time my brother and sister and I were together, was when my dad passed away, over seven years ago.

My little sis is going to retire on Wednesday the 31st.  I am so happy for her.  My hubby retired on August 31st, too….. 10 years ago.    Me?  Oh no…. not ready to retire yet.  🙂

Cherie Carter-Scott, Ph.D

New York Times #1 Best Selling author Cherie Carter-Scott, Ph.D. has been coaching change successfully since 1974. Dr. Carter-Scott is an international author, entrepreneur, consultant, lecturer, teacher/trainer, talk-show host, and seminar leader. Her company, Motivation Management Service Institute, Inc. (MMS), has reached millions of people worldwide. Dr. Carter-Scotts Fortune 500 corporate clients include: AMI, FMC, American Express, IBM, GTE, State Farm Insurance, AMI, SGI, Burger King, and Better Homes and Gardens Magazine.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 19:08:38

    I like the color and the linework in this, Beth. I know nothing of Zen tangles but have a feeling I may have been in a few! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Androgoth
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 18:58:36

    at a first glance I thought this was stained glass,
    well he would certainly look very well in that instance
    don’t you think? I like your painting anyway Beth 🙂

    Have a lovely Tuesday

    Androgoth Xx

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 30, 2011 @ 07:37:25

      Thanks, Androgoth! I have some I did while I was in Idaho that look even more like stained glass. I get into the black lines, at times. he he 😀

      Reply

      • Androgoth
        Aug 30, 2011 @ 15:41:56

        Hey maybe you should try offering some of your work towards this theme, it could be a new venture? 🙂 Of course your paintings are excellent in their own right so maybe just a side-line to consider 🙂

        Have a lovely rest of day now

        Androgoth Xx

      • Beth Parker
        Aug 30, 2011 @ 16:28:26

        Thanks! You just never know, do ya. **giggle**

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 15:09:07

    Beth, I’ve never heard of a zentangle but yours is really cool and I am fascinated. I hope you do more! I understand what you mean about family. I am extremely luck that my family generally lives very close together and can visit several times each year.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 29, 2011 @ 16:07:29

      Thanks, Linda. You would probably enjoy it, as much as you like to experiment. I saw some people do it, then I saw it on you-tube. Here’s a link I just found this minute, bu if you have time, you can probably find more. It’s fun! 🙂

      You are lucky that your family is close. It’s hard to be so far apart sometimes.

      Reply

  4. Trackback: Is Glenn Beck getting through? Wal-mart now offering Long Term Food Storage « YourDaddy's Politics
  5. asmalltowndad
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 09:09:14

    I’ve seen pink elephants before, but a moose… never! Very cool watercolor and love the patterns in the background. Have a great day Beth!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

