Tasty Tidbits

“Dreams come true. Without that possibility, nature would not incite us to have them.”
– John Updike

Tasty Tidbits – 7″ x 8″ Watercolor

This was painted from a photo by Astrid at WetCanvas.  Astrid and her hubby like to go on cruises and this is some of the desserts found on one of their trips.   I have never been on a cruise.  I’m not sure I’d like it.  I sure did have fun painting the desserts, though!

Power was out all morning, here in Eufaula again.  Another bad storm came through last night and downed some power lines.  They had a water main break, too.  This time, I stuck it out, since I already had a fire truck in my shop, ready to be lettered.  Thank goodness I had all the graphics ready.  No electricity or water needed.  At noon, they had it all back on.  Now I’m waiting on the storm that’s due to hit this afternoon.  Let’s hope our brand new mayor doesn’t have to deal with a third outage this week.  (fingers crossed)   🙂

About John Updike

John Updike, the Pulitzer Prize–winning American novelist known for his careful craftsmanship and small-town settings, published more than 60 books before his death in 2009. Born in Pennsylvania in 1932, he suffered from stammering as a child and was encouraged by his mother to write. After college, he joined The New Yorker as a regular contributor. He is best known for his series of novels about a fictional alter ego, including Rabbit, Run and Rabbit at Rest.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 08:36:18

    I’ll take one! I never think of painting food other than fruit and vegetables. This makes for a pretty painting. I like your choice of light blues, Beth. I assume the photo had a lot of white?

    I have been on a cruise. I played bingo, went to dancing classes, art class, a movie a day and generally enjoyed being with my family. My Mother and Father purchased reservations for themselves and the three of us and our families and we were all together for one last vacation. I believe the reason it worked so well on a cruise ship is because we could not really spreadout all over the place and we came together in one place at meal time. Pretty cool experience for me who does not get to travel much.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 12, 2011 @ 09:11:37

      Thanks, Leslie! Yes, the plate and the background were both white. Good guess.
      Your cruise sounds fun. I can’t even imagine my whole extended family being together for a vacation. It would be great.

      Reply

  2. Carol King
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 14:14:42

    Mmmmm, I’m hungry! Lovely painting. I think it’s hard to paint chocolate and you’ve captured it perfectly.

    I went on one cruise. We left from Puerto Rico and went to Aruba, Curacao, St. Maartin, St. Thomas and one other place that I can’t remember now. I have to say, it was just ok. The ship itself was nice, the amount of food was, to me, a bit gross considering how many people are starving. And you don’t really get to see the places you visit.

    As a tourist on the other side (meaning being in a place when a cruise ship shows up and releases its hundreds of guests on a location, I have to say I hate it. It ‘s like locusts descending on a field.

    sorry for the discourse on cruises. Hope your storms aren’t that bad and there are no power outtages.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 11, 2011 @ 14:47:30

      Ha! Your description reminds me of when I was picnicing in the Ozarks. One of those little trains full of tourist pulled up on the other side of a hill and all the sudden we were being invaded by human locusts! It was kinda scary at first. We didn’t know where all those people came from until we were making our escape and saw the train on the other side of the hill.

      Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 14:01:13

    I have only been on one cruise but you captured the desserts EXCEPT the plate would have been filled to overflowing. Great painting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

