Idaho Retreat

“Love is an act of endless forgiveness, a tender look which becomes a habit.”
– Peter Ustinov

Idaho Retreat – 9″ x 7″ Watercolor on Masa

This was painted from a photograph I fell in love with.  It is the view from the porch of the cabin I have rented for my 3 day painting retreat  in Idaho’s beautiful Teton Valley.  I have permission from the cabin’s owners to post this painting, but I won’t be telling you anything about them or the cabin, until I return.  What good is a retreat, if you’ve told everyone where you’ll be?  I am so excited!  

(Click on the painting for a larger view.)

Yesterday, the entire city of Eufaula lost power from a storm, so I went back home and made my hubby a big country breakfast.  Then, I played for a bit and went back to work when the power came back on around noon.  That was one of those times I was glad to live 13 miles out in the country.  Well…. except for the 52 miles of driving I did.  🙂

About Peter Ustinov

British actor Peter Ustinov is best known for his Oscar-winning roles in Topkapi and Spartacus. He was born in London in 1921 to parents of blended pan-European extraction. He wrote several plays as well as a well-received autobiography, Dear Me. From 1969 until his death in 2004, he took on the role of goodwill ambassador for UNICEF, visiting disadvantaged children all over the world. He said his multicultural background gave him automatic loyalty to the UN.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 14:20:09

    I just love what you and Leslie are doing with Masa paper and this painting is no exception.

    Thanks for the link you gave to Leslie. I checked it out and it looks like fun. 🙂

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 10:07:00

    I am so impressed with your work on this masa paper, Beth. I think you are painting incredible compositions and your love of color is accentuated in these. They are all good but you have taken a leap on these last two. VERY AWESOME!!!!
    I will be looking forward to hearing about your three day trip and all you experience.

    What is modge podge for? Is it similar to acrylic matte medium. I asked this because maybe I should try it so my students would have more choices of what to adhere their masa paper with. Can you lift off the surface? Are you still using it for these? Is it acid free?

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 10, 2011 @ 10:36:40

      Thanks so much, Leslie! I am having a wonderful time with it! Thanks so much for sharing the technique! 🙂

      I actually used matte medium on the last batch. Modge podge is just like matte medium, except you can buy it in so many varieties. Just buy matte. It is used to attach paper or fabric to furniture, for example. Here’s a place to explore.

      Reply

  3. asmalltowndad
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 09:59:33

    Just the word cabin makes me relax, and then throw two rocking chairs on a front porch… Ahhhh heaven! Great painting Beth!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

