Idaho Range – Another Study

“When we are unable to find tranquility within ourselves, it is useless to seek it elsewhere.”
-Core-A-Te

Idaho Range – Gouache & Acrylic on Black Strathmore Photo Mount Card – 5″ x 7″

More practice from my 2009 photos.  I think if you looked at this week’s paintings, it would seem that they came from 5 different artists.  I was all over the place last weekend… having fun with my art.  he he

I just found out last night that we have a weekend house guest coming, so I’m not sure how much time I’ll get to paint.  I’ll probably sneak into the studio in the wee hours of the morning.  I’ll just have to be quiet, since it’s right next door to the guest bedroom.  🙂

Core-a-te: conditioning meets martial arts

A body workout with a dollop of self-defense and a dash of spirituality

November 08, 2010|By Meredith May, Chronicle Staff Writer

Before entering the dojo, Whitney Arnautou had her students contemplate a daily saying:

“Accept change. It is inevitable. … In ourselves. Our bodies. Our relationships. Our Jobs. Understand that it’s happening every day, and try to move with the changes – gracefully.”  (Note from Beth… WOW!  I like that!)

Minds centered, it was time for Core-a-te, a new exercise class at the United Studios of Self Defense in San Francisco that combines karate, self-defense and a kick-in-the-pants core workout.

Arnautou, a Shaolin Kenpo black belt and fitness instructor, designed the one-hour workout to bring her students physical and spiritual balance.  More…

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephen
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 01:16:17

    I just love this composition Beth – this is such a punchy painting. Punchy and funky. Perhaps not words for a landscape but that is what comes to mind.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 17, 2011 @ 05:35:03

      Thanks so much, Stephen! I am headed back up to Idaho in a few days to paint some more. Hey, I happen to think “punchy and funky” are awesome words to describe one of my landscapes. **big grin**

      Reply

  2. Androgoth
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 10:34:14

    First of all let me just say I think that painting and drawing, etc is very similar to writing, in the sense that one can experiment, indeed in paintings or drawings one can have a little fun with the textures and colour combinations, perhaps add a nonfigurative aspect or merge different ideas into something completely unique, it is similar with writing but all in all it is a wonderful learning curve that is a fruitful way of evolving our hobbies and working processes. Well that is what I think anyway 🙂 lol

    I rather like this idea of the United Studios of Self Defence in San Francisco that combines Karate with that kick-in-the-pants attitude, well there is one way of looking at this and that is, that if the Karate and self Defence do not tire one out, then there is always time to reflect upon one’s hobbies, and preferably something tranquil such as painting, drawing or writing 🙂 lol

    Have a great rest of day now Beth and thank you for offering your paintings and these very interesting side themes…

    Androgoth

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 05, 2011 @ 13:53:05

      Thanks, Androgoth! I love reading your comments. They make me want to go back and read the blog posts again. 🙂

      Reply

      • Androgoth
        Aug 07, 2011 @ 07:39:48

        What a very nice thing to say my friend 🙂 Do have a most wonderful Sunday filled with exciting moments, and of course relaxing in a tranquil setting where thoughts and dreams are realised…

        Androgoth

  3. lesliepaints
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 10:25:43

    This is another favorite way of mine that you paint. I can tell it is you in most everything you do, Beth. It has a lot to do with your color usage and the shapes you use and not the technique. Different techniques of the same artist. I just discussed that on a comment or two on my blog and I think it is really hard for an artist to “see” their own style. With me, I think it is something about line…we learn.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 05, 2011 @ 13:54:51

      Thanks, Leslie! You have a beautiful style, and I think it is about line and curve. Nothing harsh or sharp. And all the glorious color you use!! Ooo la la!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

