Palms – A Study in Negative Space on Masa

“Failure seldom stops you. What stops you is the fear of failure.”
– Jack Lemmon

Palms – A Study in Negative Space on Masa – 7″ x 10″ Watercolor

This is loosely based on a photo from Wildhorse Australia on WetCanvas.  It was so fun!  I find that painting on masa encourages me to develop negative space.  Practicing this technique can only make my watercolors better.  I love this stuff (masa)!  Thanks, Leslie!

About Jack Lemmon

Jack Lemmon is best known for the poignant sweetness he brought to comedic roles in movies like Some Like It Hot and The Apartment, but is also remembered for his dramatic roles, including the struggling alcoholic in Days of Wine and Roses. He was born in 1925 into a wealthy Boston family and knew by the age of four that he wanted to become an actor. He won two Academy Awards and was known for his collaborations with director Billy Wilder and costar Walter Matthau. He died in 2001.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 08:27:03

    Wow, Beth. This is gorgeous. So many layers and textures. Leslie will have us all painting on masa soon. You did an amazing job with this image.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 03, 2011 @ 08:34:13

      Awww, thanks, Carol! I resisted for a long time, because you have to prepare the paper and my life is a little crazy, but it’s not that bad. I did a batch of them all at once. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Colorful NEGATIVE SPACE… a challenge within the challenge. « Blog Archive « Do You See What I See
  3. debbyfriselladesigns
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 15:05:40

    I LOVE your painting! I have to do some masa too! I’ll post when I finish it…thank you for the inspiration!

    Reply

  4. Alex Zonis
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 13:31:01

    Beautiful!

    Reply

  5. thewhiteswan
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 11:50:36

    Love the color in this, Beth. Very cool layering effect. I agree with Leslie, you have achieved a nice feeling of depth and space. I sense a big ripple effect of experiments with masa paper! 😉
    K

    Reply

  6. lesliepaints
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 08:03:50

    The fact that masa inspires you to look at negative space more closely is a big plus. I never really thought about that while working on it. I love this creation as you have adequately illustrated negative space AND! depth. You are now inspiring me!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Aug 01, 2011 @ 08:16:50

      Thanks, Leslie! Me inspiring you? How cool is that? I think the reason I am enjoying the negative space with masa, is that it develops, like film must do in a dark room. FUN!! 😀

      Reply

      • lesliepaints
        Aug 01, 2011 @ 09:53:35

        You have inspired me many times. Remember that whiskey print from an inkjet? You also introduced me to wet canvas which I am eternally grateful for as it has helped me in my teaching. You have inspired me to be whimsical! Remember the devil and the witch I was inspired to create through the Halloween challenge? How much more!

      • Beth Parker
        Aug 01, 2011 @ 12:27:05

        Awww, thanks, Leslie! Anytime I can bring the whimsical out in someone, I am happy! I remember the things you mentioned. Art is fun, isn’t it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

