Corner of Masa & Watercolor

“Nothing will ever be attempted if all possible objections must first be overcome.”
– Samuel Johnson

Corner of Masa & Watercolor – 7″ x 10″

This was an exercise in pure joy!  I spent 3 hours on this.  I just couldn’t quit fiddling.   I think that is part of the fun of masa.  Each brush stoke brings new discoveries.

The great reference photo was from Catherine at WetCanvas and was actually a corner in France.  I changed the signs because I am, after all, a sign lady.  🙂

About Samuel Johnson

Samuel Johnson, the sharp-witted British essayist, wrote the first English language dictionary; his definitions still form the backbone of current dictionaries. He was born in Staffordshire in 1709. Johnson married a widow 20 years his senior and lived in poverty before achieving success with his essays when he was in his forties. Later in life, he befriended the young James Boswell, whose Life of Johnson became the quintessential English biography. Johnson died in 1784.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 15:59:59

    Wow I like-a-this-a-one, it seems that the mesa paper just fits perfect for certain paintings, and this is one of those. Perfect!
    After 2700 miles of driving this past week… I need a pilot! As my dad would say “I’ve been sitting in this car for so long, my butt cheeks have grown together” I now know what he meant!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 25, 2011 @ 16:12:26

      Thanks, Ryan! Ya know… there comes a point where we have to realize our frailties as “less young” people. 😀 2700 miles is a lot. I don’t want to do it anymore, myself. I’m glad you had fun!

      Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 11:36:19

    Very nice. Masa creates so much texture and is perfect for this type of subject. Charming!

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 09:59:58

    OK, now i can tell that you are hooked on this wonderful paper like I am. This is exquisite, Beth. I like how you took the full opaque value of the colors for the lamp post to contrast with the texture in all else from the masa paper. This glows!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 25, 2011 @ 10:14:26

      Thanks, Leslie! Yes, I am loving this paper. I’m still playing with the first batch I tinted. I do think it’s the most fun I’ve had with paper in a long time. I want to try so many things! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

