Border Collie Pup

“Let your hook be always cast; in the pool where you least expect it, there will be a fish.”
– Ovid

Border Collie Pup – 6″ x 10″ Watercolor on Masa

And cropped to the 5″ x 7″ version.  A painting within a painting, while I played with color on the masa paper.  I had so much fun with this pup.  I kept adding blues and hot pink and purple to Cleo, while playing with warm colors on the background.

Thanks to JustJean at WetCanvas, for the photo.

About Ovid

Publius Ovidius Naso, the Roman poet known as Ovid, best known for the epic Metamorphoses, is considered one of the greatest poets of Latin literature. He was born in 43 B.C. in what is now Italy. He rose quickly in Roman government and was on track to become a senator when he chose to devote himself to poetry instead. His tale of Pyramus and Thisbe is the source for Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. Emperor Augustus exiled Ovid from Rome for unknown reasons in 8 A.D.; he died in exile in 17 A.D. ”

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 08:14:52

    This glows, Beth! Are you getting the feeling that about any subject matter could be painted on this surface? The other thing I like about it is that the painting always ends up looking like a watercolor. I also like the base tones you are getting on your masa. 🙂

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 19, 2011 @ 08:21:19

      Thanks, Leslie! I am really loving this masa! I wish I had more time to paint. I am so ready to try one of the landscapes I was doing after I took that workshop in Washington. (like you suggested) I also want to try my golden fluid acrylics on it, since they are pretty translucent. You could adhere masa to anything, too. I have some paper mache wine boxes…. 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

