Sheep on Masa

“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.”
– Aristotle

Sheep on Masa – 7″ x 10″ Watercolor

What can I say about masa paper?  FUN!!!  I had the best time working on this painting.  I have been watching the beautiful paintings that Leslie White has been doing on masa and I had to try it.  This is actually the second painting.  The first doesn’t show all the wonders of the masa like this one does, so I thought I’d post it first.

As luck would have it, Leslie is showing how she does this on her blog today.  Go check it out, because it’s so much fun!!!    By the way, thanks for the mention, Leslie!  🙂

About Aristotle

Aristotle, the ancient Greek philosopher who is considered one of the most influential thinkers in history, wrote a number of books about science, poetry, and ethics. He was born in 384 B.C. in Macedonia. He studied with Plato in Athens and later tutored Alexander the Great. His death in 322 B.C. was rumored to be caused by hemlock poisoning.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 11:55:44

    Yay!!!! Absolutely awesome, Beth. You achieved beautiful teture on this paper, too. I love the orange sheep and the crinkly effect this paper adds just makes her pop! It is so much fun watching you and louise try this as I have become rather hooked with the possibilities this paper offers all of us.
    Beautiful!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 11, 2011 @ 12:29:54

      It was really fun, Leslie! i can’t wait to try it on different subjects. Since I am going to Idaho to paint next month, I’ll be looking at references in a whole new way. I may have to prepare a bunch of sheets to take with me. It even makes plein air seem less scary! Thanks so much for the inspiration! 😀

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Update on Masa « Leslie White
  3. louisedouglas
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 08:14:34

    Beth this is wonderful! I too am grateful to Leslie for giving me the bug. I also have 2-3- to prepare today and will use all of Leslie’s instructions. Paint on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

