Climbing Ivy

“Do not be too timid and squeamish about your actions. All life is an experiment.”
– Ralph Waldo Emerson

Climbing Ivy – 5″ x 7″ Watercolor

This is the finished painting that I started a week ago and finished Saturday morning.  The photo I used for a reference is compliments of Dominic at WetCanvas.  Here are the steps I took…

First, I wet a piece of watercolor paper and dropped some color onto it.  Then, I added rock salt and rice.

After it dried, it looked like this…

Then, I negative painted the bricks and mortar into it.  Just for fun, I then splattered a little watercolor over it.

Here is what it looks like without the tape, before I cropped it for the blog.

I had a great time!!!  🙂

Click on any photo to see it larger.


About Ralph Waldo Emerson

Ralph Waldo Emerson helped spark the transcendentalist movement with the essay Nature, which described his belief in the spiritual essence of humanity and the natural world. He was born in Boston in 1803. He was a Unitarian minister until he resigned in 1832 to become a philosopher and writer. He suffered the untimely deaths of many of his loved ones: three brothers, his first wife at age 20, and his eldest son at age five. Emerson died in 1882.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. compostingalife
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 10:54:42

    thanks for sharing your process…i know so little about this

    Reply

  2. asmalltowndad
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 09:50:21

    Two things rock salt is good for… Beth’s painting and homemade ice cream! Two delicious treats!

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 08:35:12

    This is awesome, Beth. Taking the extra time to create the texture really payed off. I really like how the yellow in the background became the light in this and the green became the ivy and its shadow. Very very nice!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jul 05, 2011 @ 08:43:14

      Thanks so much, Leslie! I prepared some masa paper Friday, but it was too wet to transport and I didn’t want to come back into town to get it, so I have some treasures to play with next weekend.

      Thanks for sharing the directions with me, so I knew where to start. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

