Puerto Rico

“The most difficult thing is the decision to act, the rest is merely tenacity.”
– Amelia Earhart

Puerto Rico – 8″ x 10″ Watercolor Pencil and Gouache on Black Art Spectrum Colourfix

This was really fun!  I drew the whole thing with watercolor pencils, then came back in with gouache to finish it.   I cropped this from an image by Tonyjazz at WetCanvas.

The masa paper I ordered came in yesterday.  I can’t wait to play with it!  🙂

About Amelia Earhart

Amelia Earhart, who was born in 1897 in Kansas, became the first person to fly solo across the Pacific Ocean and gained renown as a woman in a field dominated by men. Earhart worked as a nurse’s aide during World War I and learned to fly after moving to Los Angeles in 1919. She first became famous as one of a crew of three to fly across the Atlantic in 1928, but her best-known flight was her last. As she was attempting to fly around the world in 1937, her plane disappeared over the Pacific Ocean and was never found.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 09:11:15

    Color shape and interest is what I see in this painting.I want to reach right into the scene and hold that beautiful village up so it does not slide down the slope!
    Yay for masa! I must tone some more of it tonight as I used my last pre-prepared piece.
    There are many sites that teach this technique, Beth. You may want to read some of them. I used this one when I did my first one: http://illustratedlife.blogspot.com/2010/02/batik-like-effects-with-masa-paper-demo.html
    My tutorial is here: http://lesliepaints.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/masa-paper-step-by-step-and-clyde/ One thing that really helps me is to treat four or more pieces of masa at a time. That way I have different colored surfaces to choose from and I find references that suit the papers I have made. Hope that helps!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jun 30, 2011 @ 09:27:09

      Thanks, Leslie! My husband doesn’t usually “get” my art, but he loved this one. Thanks for all the references on masa. I bought 5 huge sheets and I can’t wait to figure it out. As soon as I have a free minute, I’m going to prepare some pieces to play with. This will really help me get started. YAY!!!!! 😀

      Reply

  2. tskraghu
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 22:09:52

    the colors ae such a pleasure!

    Reply

  3. asmalltowndad
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 12:22:35

    What great, bright colors of dwellings in the foreground of hills. I guess that I’m going to have to try the masa paper craze like the rest of ya. Beth where do you go on Wet Canvas to get the references? Is there a specific spot on the blog?

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jun 29, 2011 @ 12:59:03

      Thanks, Ryan! Just go to http://www.wetcanvas.com then go to the pull down menu that says Content Areas. At the bottom, you’ll see Reference Image Library. Click there and you’re in. They have 9,471,705 photos in there, searchable by category or interest. Way cool!

      On the masa, I’m going to have to go re-read Leslie’s posts to figure out what to do with it. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

