Bird ATC

“Happiness always looks small while you hold it in your hands, but let it go, and you learn at once how big and precious it is.”
– Aleksei Peshkov

Never take happiness for granted.  If you find it slipping away, you better get busy and get it back!  We just get this one life, ya know.  🙂

Bird ATC – 2.5″ x 3.5″ Watercolor

Here’s another little spring ATC from the old exchange.    I am going to paint this weekend.  I can’t wait to have new art to share!  Hubby is improving, since he’s been home.  I’m taking him for a 1 week check up tomorrow, to ensure he’ll be good to go for the long weekend.  YAY!

About Aleksei Peshkov

Russian social realist author Aleksei Peshkov, known as Maxim Gorky, was so esteemed that his birthplace, Nizhny Novgorod, was renamed Gorky in his honor. He was born in 1868. His parents died when he was young, and he left his home at age 12. He was arrested in the late 1880’s as a revolutionary. His writing, including his best-known novel, The Mother, portrayed a decadent society and immense poverty. He became disillusioned after the Russian Revolution, feeling Lenin’s Communism was little better. He died in 1936.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    May 26, 2011 @ 12:38:41

    What a precious bird!
    More than ever, your quote this morning is pertinent to my experiences this AM. I looked out my window this AM above the sink, while waiting for that morning cup of coffee and saw a bunny stuck between two slats of my picket fence (PVC). I went out to slide one of the slats up as they come off all the time and I have to slide them back on. Do you think they would come off when I wanted them to? NO! I tried to pry one up with a crowbar and decided I was not strong enough. Did you know the Police nor the Fire Dept will come for a wild bunny? Only pets. By this time, there were tears in the corner of my eye. The fence company was too busy to bother and the wildlife rescue said they could not get here until tomorrow! By this time, another half hour had passed. bam! A voice appeared in my frantic mind, “Pull the bunny back through the fence the way he came from.” I gloved my hands and said a little plea for assistance and lo and behold, he did not struggle as I gently wrapped my hands around his hips and held his spine straight as I slowly slid him back and through. He was alright! He didn’t wobble but hopped to the corner of the fence he dives under and paused to look back. I think he said thank you. I was moved to tears by this point. Then I see your quote, “Happiness always looks small while you hold it in your hands, but let it go, and you learn at once how precious it is.” How true.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      May 26, 2011 @ 16:07:18

      Wow! I have goose bumps, Leslie! What a morning you had. I am so glad the little bunny realized that you were a friend. I bet his little heart was racing! I love that story and it does go well with the quote. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

