Marabou Stork

“True silence is the rest of the mind; it is to the spirit what sleep is to the body, nourishment and refreshment.”
– William Penn

Marabou Stork – 2.5″ x 3.5″ Watercolor ATC

“I’m Mary Lou, the Marabou Stork.  The thing I like best about spring is all the pretty leaves.  I kinda blend in when I go like this.”

This ATC went to Mary in Davidson, MI.

We finally have a pretty good chance of getting some rain today.  The lake is looking pretty low.  The Corps of Engineers is reporting it as only 3.23 ft below normal, but it seems much lower.    In just over a month, we’ll have our first big tourist holiday of the year.  We could sure use some rain to help make the lake safer for everyone who comes to Eufaula to play.    Besides, if I can’t fly, I at least would love some rain.  🙂

I saw this video on Good Morning America, of a baby laughing hysterically at a dog popping bubbles.  It’ll make you smile, big time. 

About William Penn

William Penn is remembered as the founder of Pennsylvania; the democratic government he set up became the model for the United States Constitution. He was born in 1644 in England. After he was arrested several times for preaching Quaker ideals, he decided to found a settlement in America. He drew up the “Great Treaty” with the Delaware Indians to ensure they were paid fairly for their land and toured Europe marketing the new colony. He died in 1718.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 11:49:07

    As for your quote, in my akido class, we were to meditate, and the goal of meditation was to think about absolutely nothing. I know, you would think I would be good at that, but the hardest thing is to keep from thinking, about thinking about nothing. Try it someday, you’ll find it hard to do, but very peaceful.
    If I ever get a condo on the beach, your my first contact for a painting or two, for hanging. Very Cool!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Apr 21, 2011 @ 12:11:12

      Thanks, Ryan! I hope you do get that beach condo one day! I do try to empty my brain sometimes, just to get to sleep. It is really hard. (…especially for a woman!) 😀

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 09:11:49

    Talk about camouflage. This is awesome. I love looking for an image in a piece! Beautiful color, Beth, and I like how the plants repeat the shapes of the stork’s feathers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

