Wanna Go For A Ride?

“Amongst my Superpowers are my ability to find creative solutions, my ability
to wait, my ability to look listen and learn, my ability to modify the
flight plan ensuring a successful outcome, PLUS consider IMPOSSIBLEs only
stepping stones to success.”

Michelle Bassanesi
Rome, Italy

This quote was in response to a female pilot’s question to the other gals in the 99’s (women’s aviation group) – “What are your superpowers?”

I loved her answer.  It doesn’t just apply to piloting, but to life.

Wanna Go For A Ride? – 5″ x 7″ Watercolor & Sharpie

This is another great reference from KreativeK at WetCanvas.com.  I had fun simplifying it and showing the joy in it.   This is the third of three paintings I got to do last Saturday.

I went to McAlester yesterday afternoon and took their Cessna 172 out for some solo touch and gos.  I really had a good time.  My instructor wants me to do my long solo “cross country” this Saturday.    Of course it will depend on the availability of the plane and a last look at the weather.  I’ll fly from Muskogee, OK to Fort Smith, AR, to McAlester, OK then back to Muskogee.  Fort Smith is in controlled airspace which means I have to talk to and receive instructions from a control tower.  I am nervous about that, but have been listening to LiveATC.net, to get comfortable with that radio environment.  The links show satellite views of the airports.  🙂

Michelle Bassanesi

If you click on that link it will tell you a little more about Ms. Bassanesi.  She seems like a wonderful lady.

The Ninety Nines

OUR MISSION –The Ninety-Nines is the international organization of women pilots that promotes advancement of aviation through education, scholarships, and mutual support while honoring our unique history and sharing our passion for flight.

Established in 1929 by 99 women pilots, the members of The Ninety-Nines, Inc., International Organization of Women Pilots, are represented in all areas of aviation today. And, to quote Amelia, fly “for the fun of it!”

The Ninety Nines world headquarters is right here in Oklahoma.   They are located near Will Rogers Airport, in Oklahoma City.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 09:18:10

    Oh I love these 3 doggies going for a ride. I wish my doggie liked the car. Love the painting, love the quote.

    I imagine you went for your solo trip yesterday. Good thing it wasn’t scheduled on the east coast as we had monsoon rains.

    Hope your trip was successful.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: $80 for a Scenic Airplane Ride ($170 Value) or $89 for an Intro Flight Lesson ($159 Value) at FlyBoys Flight Centers in Griffin - Daily Couponds
  3. Trackback: $80 for a Scenic Airplane Ride ($170 Value) or $89 for an Intro Flight Lesson ($159 Value) at FlyBoys Flight Centers in Griffin - Koream Deals
  4. Trackback: $35 for a 30-Minute Flight Lesson ($75 Value) or $187 for a Ride in a 1940 Stearman Biplane ($395 Value) from Tailwheels Etc. - Daily Couponds
  5. lindahalcombfineart
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 14:31:05

    Your painting is really great. I can’t believe you did three in one day. You are super prolific! Well done!

    Reply

  6. Vickie
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 09:12:33

    Great info about the 99’s…congrats on your flying achievements!

    Reply

  7. lesliepaints
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 09:08:28

    Happy, happy dogs! Love the simplification!
    The part about impossibilities being stepping stones to success? I like that a lot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

