Sign Shop Sampling

“Character is simply habit long enough continued.”
– Plutarch

Sign Shop Sampling

I blog about art, tossed in with some positive affirmations.  But,  most of you know that I do have another life…. my sign shop.  Signs by Beth, LLC has been in business 19 years.  It’s a hoppin’ little place and last week was a doozie.

Here are just some of the signs I produced last week.  The first 6 are 4′ x 8′ signs.  Whale’s Tale is a 3′ x 6′ sign and the box van is 7′ x 15′.  Of course I did the front and back, too.  My week also included a combination of other small signs and some trucks.  I don’t have any employees, so every sign is made by me.    Ryan (asmalltowndad) asked me to show him some of the signs I make, so here ya go.  🙂

About Plutarch

Plutarch, the Greek historian who penned more than 46 anecdote-laced biographies of famous Greek and Roman figures in his Parallel Lives series of books, was more interested in exploring the influence of character on a man’s personal destiny than in writing dry histories. He was born in Greece during Roman rule, most likely in the year 46. He traveled extensively through the Roman Empire, finally returning home to become a priest of Apollo at the Oracle of Delphi. He died in the year 120.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 20:35:16

    You did these in a week?!?!? Phew! Beautiful signs!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 22, 2011 @ 07:35:57

      Thanks, Leslie! It was a crazy week. I did even more than that…. can you imagine? he he I feel a wee bit older this week than I did 2 weeks ago. 😀

      Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 17:39:11

    You are one busy lady! I am glad you explained the process you follow. Very interesting.

    Reply

  3. Carol King
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 15:14:09

    cool! It’s nice to see your signs from your “other” life.

    A vinyl cutter? Do you cut the letters and shapes out and put them on the sign material? Are the signs metal?

    I can’t believe you hand painted your signs. Wow.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 21, 2011 @ 16:04:14

      Thanks, Carol! I do the designs in the computer and my plotter cuts them out of vinyl, then I apply vinyl to the sign board, which is called Diabond. (It’s a composite core sandwiched between two sheets of aluminum.) It’s hard for me to believe I used to hand paint them all, too. It took soooooo long! 😀

      Reply

  4. Alex Zonis
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 08:45:26

    Paint me impressed! Very impressed! I didn’t know about what you do in your professional life, these signs and their sizes are extremely respectable. Thank you for showing them to us.

    Signed – Alex 🙂

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 21, 2011 @ 09:07:53

      Thanks so much, Alex! How nice! I have been very blessed to have such a fun job, for the last 19 years. When I started it, I had a ladder hanging out the back of my old car and I hand painted every sign. That only lasted 4 years, before I discovered the wonders of a vinyl cutter. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

