Spring Garden – Watercolor

“Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement. Nothing can be done without hope and confidence.”
– Helen Keller

Spring Garden – Watercolor

This one has a funny story.  I entered it into a little show called “Out of Nature 2009” at the Whistle Stop Gallery, in Granite City, IL.    I found out long after the show was over, that it won an Award of Excellence.  You just never know what will happen.  I quit entering shows, except for the ones at our local gallery, but I do have this one little “win” behind me.   🙂

About Helen Keller

American author and activist Helen Keller was born in Alabama in 1880; she became blind and deaf after a childhood fever. When she was 7, Ann Sullivan famously coaxed her out of her sullen, angry shell and taught her to communicate. From then on, Keller took on the world. She graduated from Radcliffe, traveled the world visiting sweatshops and speaking out for the powerless, helped found the ACLU, and wrote eleven books. She died in 1968.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 19:47:43

    You certainly deserved an Award of Excellence for this. I love all the shapes of the leaves! Really nice!

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 09:12:55

    I knew I’d seen this before! I liked it then and still like it now. You deservbed an award for this with all these interesting overlapping shapes!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 14, 2011 @ 09:31:46

      Thanks, Leslie! I’m studying for my private pilot’s exam, so no time for new art. I do think it’s fun revisiting some of the older paintings. It makes me want to try some of the old methods again, too. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

