Ivy & Star – Watercolor

“What the caterpillar calls the end of the world the master calls a butterfly.”
– Richard Bach

Ivy & Star – Watercolor

I really enjoyed doing this one.  After I painted the ivy, I added a little gold glittery star, hanging from a red string, just for fun.

About Richard Bach

Richard Bach, the American pilot and author, became hugely successful with the publication of the slim novel Jonathan Livingston Seagull, a spiritual quest about a bird who loved to fly rather than seeing flight as a means to an end. He was born in Illinois in 1936, a descendant of composer Johann Sebastian Bach. He has been an Air Force Reserve pilot, a flight instructor, and a barnstormer; most of his books involve flight either directly or as a metaphor.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: $75 for a Discovery Flight and Ground Lesson from Pilot Journey ($149.95 Value) - Daily Couponds
  2. lesliepaints
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 09:52:50

    I love the interest that the star creates in this composition. Makes me wonder who hung it there and why. There are so many stories to be told through our work.
    I have read much of what Richard Bach has written, Beth. I can imagine he is one of your favorite authors with your interest in flying!!! 🙂

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Mar 08, 2011 @ 10:40:12

      Thanks, Leslie! I like the star, too. It does make you think a little. (It wasn’t in the reference.) I actually bought Jonathan Livingston Seagull, but still haven’t read it. I’m looking forward to someday having more free time to paint and read. I read every night, but there’s never quite enough time. 🙂

      Reply

      • lesliepaints
        Mar 08, 2011 @ 12:09:58

        Uhm…..don’t delay in reading his books, especially Jonathan Livingston. You will, perhaps feel as though you have meant your mentors in the seagull and Richard Bach, both. I’m serious.

      • Beth Parker
        Mar 08, 2011 @ 12:16:14

        I’m almost finished with the book I’m reading now, so I’ll start his next. **big grin** The book I’m reading now was loaned to me, so I’m trying to finish it as quick as I can so I can return it.

Leave a Reply

