Fantasy Fish II

“Most people are so busy knocking themselves out trying to do everything they think they should do, they never get around to what they want to do.”
–Kathleen Winsor

Fantasy Fish II

Watercolor, Inktense & Ink

This is the second fish in my series.  To appreciate the intensity, I must confess that the whole image is only about 8″ x 10″.   The little egret is quite happy to be enjoying the sunny day in a Fantasy Fish.  he he 😀

We’re going to enjoy a day in the upper 60’s here today.  YAY!!

Kathleen Winsor, author of the bestselling Forever Amber, has died aged 83. Her 1944 novel, which was made into a high-profile film directed by Otto Preminger, was a thousand-page fictional romp through Restoration fashion, politics, bedrooms and public disasters, among them the plague and the Great Fire of London. It was a love letter to a London she had read about in Defoe and Pepys, but had never seen.

Forever Amber was published in New York by Macmillan, the firm that had sold 4m copies of Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With The Wind in 1936. Alert to the possibilities of Winsor’s manuscript, which ran to 2,500 pages, their editors set about carving something commercially viable from the sprawling story.  More…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 15:02:46

    I really like this fish. The sun on the body radiates to everything else….. Wouldn’t this fish be totally awesome done in colored beadwork or needlepoint?
    Awesome quote and a topic a friend and I were talking about just last week. I have finally made drawing and painting a priority over all else but family issues and work. It has served to both refresh me and give me a feeling of having done something that somehow makes the other responsibilities flow. We live in a world that assists the feelings of guilt when we take time to do things for the sheer joy of it. I say, “Face the guilt and invest in yourself. The benefits far outweigh any negativity that may come from that investment.”

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Feb 16, 2011 @ 06:28:43

      You are so right, Leslie! I believe you and your friend have hit on something. We have to live our lives as though it could be over at any time. I’m going to my third funeral in a month, this afternoon. The youngest one was only 44 and he probably thought he had all the time in the world to do the things he wanted to do. Grab today and “live” it, for the pure joy it has to offer! Thanks for your comment on my painting, too. Beadwork or embroidery would be beautiful! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Debbie Adams
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 09:46:39

    Really nice things come in small packages. 🙂 I love all the colors and how busy this one is! You have been in a very colorful mood lately; more than usual.
    Great fish painting!
    Have a good day, Beth!

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Feb 15, 2011 @ 11:24:12

      Thanks so much, Debbie! I think having more free time to paint, during all the storms, gave me a little more time with my muse. Free time is not something I usually get very much of. I’m glad you like my fish. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

