Coastal Fantasy Fish I

“When I do things without any explanation, but just with spontaneity…I can be sure that I am right.”
– Federico Fellini

Coastal Fantasy Fish I

Watercolor, Inktense & Ink

This is the first fish I did for a new coastal series I am working on.  I am having so much fun working on this new collection!

Whenever I share something new, I have copyright in the back of my mind.  Stealing art on the internet has become so blatant that it is a huge concern for anyone who creates art for a living.  I am new to art licensing, but it is still art that I do with the intent to license.   It’s a shame we have to be afraid.

There is a new group, started by Phyllis Dobbs,  on LinkedIn that addresses these issues.   Copyright – Artist’s Rights. I am very interested to learn how we can work together to protect our art.  If it concerns you, too, join us at LinkedIn.

About Federico Fellini

Famed Italian director Federico Fellini is known for the dreamlike logic and rich symbolism in Oscar- winning films like La Strada, La Dolce Vita, 8 ½, and Amarcord. His films often featured his wife, actress Giulietta Masina, and his onscreen alter-ego, actor Marcello Mastroiann. He was born in 1920 in Rimini. After he’d begun his film career, he opened a store named the Funny Face Shop, where he sold his drawings and artwork from other filmmakers. His 1993 funeral was attended by thousands of fans.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 09:09:22

    Now this is my kind of fish! All I need is a beach chair and some music.

    Reply

  2. Debbie Adams
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 19:17:40

    You got the whole Island in this fishing painting; so much to look at. Bravo!

    Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 18:32:25

    Wow! I love it. Very creative – complex but all Beth – cheery and light! I agree with you that your copyright must be protected. It is very hard to catch violators…thanks for the link.

    Reply

  4. debbyfriselladesigns
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 17:03:27

    So unique…I LOVE this painting! Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Reply

  5. thewhiteswan
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 11:42:19

    Oh Beth, I really really dig this one!
    I love the colors and the concept of putting a full scene inside another image. Can’t wait to see more of this series.
    Karen

    Reply

  6. lesliepaints
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 10:28:15

    Wow! A landscape in a fish! Love it. It does not go unnoticed that you placed a pelican within a fish instead of the other way around. Awesome!
    I can see that there would be aconcern, especially with your new endeavors toward art licensing. Many are not as respectful of others’ work as some of us. I always figure, I have the original….That, to me, is the important thing. I would feel so invaded would someone steal those from my home, but they would probably go for other things and not my art.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Feb 14, 2011 @ 10:41:21

      Thanks, Leslie! I placed a bird in each one of the paintings. I thought it was a fun thing to do. On the stealing, it can be just as awful if someone steals your art online and copies it or sells it as their own. I’m pretty sure nobody will be stealing the art from my house either. They’d steal the doormat or toilet paper first. he he he 😀

      Reply

  7. Jackie Griswold
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 10:27:14

    I love the fish, and can’t wait to see more of the series. The colors are so bright and sunshiny.

    Jackie

    Reply

  8. compostingalife
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 09:41:01

    way cool… i like to “copy” your enthusiasm…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

