Snow Storm Bird Painting

“If one scheme of happiness fails, human nature turns to another; if the first calculation is wrong, we make a second better.”
– Jane Austen

Snow Storm Bird Painting

Watercolor & Ink

Yes, I painted this fellow in the hotel room last week.  When I finally got out of that room, I painted grasshoppers.  ha ha ha  😀

It’s noon and I just made it in to work.  After tomorrow and Wednesday’s snow, I may be housebound until the weekend.  *sigh*

About Jane Austen

Jane Austen (1775-1817), the British writer whose sparkling, socially incisive novels remain extremely popular two centuries after her death, is best known for Pride and Prejudice, which she called her “own darling child.” She started writing solely for her own family, and her novels, including Sense and Sensibility and Emma, were initially published anonymously (or “By a Lady”). Nevertheless, she won fame later in life, and she earned the high honor of burial in Winchester Cathedral after her death in 1817 at age 41.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 09:26:48

    A pelican that looks “all business”.
    I have pretty much had it with the snow and the shoveling but was afraid to say much as I don’t wish to bring on the “HEAT” of a summer like we had up here last year. Moderation and balnace, please!
    Looking forward to seeing your grasshoppers.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Feb 08, 2011 @ 11:42:31

      Thanks, Leslie! I know what you mean. Last summer was so hot! But at least I can get to and from work every day in the heat. I was proud that I drove the jeep up the driveway this morning. YAY!!

      Reply

  2. Debbie Adams
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 15:23:17

    You sure are getting a lot of snow, Beth. I know you’re sick of it. Hang in there woman.
    Grasshoppers, eh. Hope to see them.
    Ah, dressed both snappy and relaxed. They both work for me. Big smiles!

    Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 14:50:22

    Reminds me of where I would love to be…sigh!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

