Pink Poppy Flamingo

“The individual is capable of both great compassion and great indifference. He has it within his means to nourish the former and outgrow the latter.”
– Norman Cousins

Pink Poppy Flamingo

Watercolor & Ink

This is what happens to a mind that is trapped in a hotel room during a snow storm.  ha ha ha  With our steep driveway (out in the country) we decided to stay in a hotel in town.  It turns out that it was a good decision.  Our neighborhood is still too icy to venture in, so our neighbors are taking care of the house, while we stay in town a couple days.   We got a lot of snow and it’s a mess!

I hope that wherever you are reading this from, that you are safe and warm.

About Norman Cousins

American writer and editor Norman Cousins is best known for his book, Anatomy of an Illness, an account of how he used nutrition and positive visualizations, including laughter, to heal from an illness diagnosed as fatal. He was born in New Jersey in 1915. He served many years as editor-in-chief of the Saturday Review, a job he loved. Under his guidance, circulation increased from 20,000 to 650,000. He received the UN Peace Medal for his world activism. He died in 1990.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alex Zonis
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 18:23:06

    This one is my favorite! Did I say this before?… Never mind that! This is one is still my favorite :D!

    Reply

  2. debbyfriselladesigns
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 17:32:59

    I so LOVE this bird! I always look forward to reading your posts after a day of rushing around! Keep creating, I love your style!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Alina
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 11:10:38

    I like the pink from flamingo.
    When i think that animals and nature speak us through the colors and forms this makes me be much interest to discover them language.

    Have a great day,dear friend! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Debbie Adams
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 16:00:17

    I’m glad you decided to take that hotel room, Beth. Better to stay safe and warm.
    So I’m rather late getting to see my birds today, wow it’s almost 4:00 pm., but as always you brings a smile to my face, and you are long over due for a “thank you for brightening up my days!”
    We did not get the snow as predicted, but did get rain, ice and wind, So the road conditions are not so good on these back country roads or my driveway like you. But I’m safe and warm and have all the staples I need to keep hubby, pets and self content.
    I love this bird, you have an amazing imagination the way you keep dressing the up with style. This one is exceptional!
    Stay safe, Beth.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Feb 02, 2011 @ 16:24:13

      Thanks so much, Debbie! My husband looks at these artworks with that fake smile and small nod that means… “I don’t get it, but if it makes you happy….”. 😀

      You stay warm too, Debbie!

      Reply

  5. lindahalcombfineart
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 14:27:03

    very smart girl! We are struggling to chip away almost 2 inches of ice but my day was brightened by your Pink Poppy wearing Flamingo. I am smilin’ and Florida Dreamin’!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

