Christmas Egret

“The Golden Rule works for men as written, but for women it should go the other way around.  We need to do unto ourselves as we do unto others.”
— Gloria Steinem

Christmas Egret

Watercolor & Ink

It’s weird to think about Christmas, but we are waiting for the mother of all storms to hit our area (and many of yours) tonight.  I have been running around this morning gathering provisions and getting prepared.  Then, I discovered I had a flat tire, so my truck is now at the tire shop.  It has been a crazy morning.

My flight on Saturday was wonderful!  I flew from Muskogee to Fort Smith, then to McAlester and back to Muskogee.  I had my CFI with me, but it was still good.  I now have an endorsement in my log book that allows me to fly solo in Muskogee or McAlester, and points in between!  YAY!!!

I hope that wherever you are during the coming storm,  you are safe and warm.

Gloria Steinem

Social activist, writer, editor, and lecturer. Born on March 25, 1934, in Toledo, Ohio. Since the late 1960s, Gloria Steinem has been an outspoken champion of women’s rights. She had an unusual upbringing, spending part of the year in Michigan and the winters in Florida or California. With all this traveling, Steinem did not attend school on a regular basis until she was 11.  More….

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 09:15:26

    We’ve had ice and freezing rain with the BAD part to come later today. BRRRRRRR! Glad to stay inside. I like your sense of humor. And the great green tennis shoes.

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 19:39:37

    Yay for the flight! Storm is tracking through here. Shovel and snowblower at the ready!
    Thought of you, today, as I fed the birds here! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Joan T
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 19:33:19

    Love the birds with the shoes!!!!!!!!! Hope the storm isn’t too bad for you. It is headed our way and they are predicting some snow and ice. We still have so much snow left from the last storm that you can’t see around corners. Stay safe.

    Reply

  4. Debbie Adams
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 14:04:02

    The weather is not looking good for us in W.Virginia either, but were use to it, and like Ryan, “sick of it”. Come on Spring.
    Happy your flight went good for you. I know you’re very pleased about it. Congrats!
    Now about the bird. I love it as always, especially the tennis shoes around Christmas-time.
    The weekend must have been a long one for me for it seemed like forever waiting for an email notification that you have a new post. I told you, 7, hehe.

    Reply

    • Beth Parker
      Jan 31, 2011 @ 14:28:45

      Thanks so much, Debbie! Seven, eh? he he he I did get a pretty late start today. I still don’t know if they found the hole in my tire, either. It’s sure Monday! 🙂

      Reply

      • Debbie Adams
        Jan 31, 2011 @ 15:30:46

        I forgot all about that tire as I was posting the first time. I’m so sorry this happened to you. Mondays can be rough. The better the weekend, the harder the Monday is what I had notice in my life. I hope it can only get better for you.

      • Beth Parker
        Jan 31, 2011 @ 15:56:04

        Thanks, Debbie! I had a very calm, wonderful weekend, so I haven’t let anything really get to me today. Tire seems okay, since tire shop never found a hole and it’s holding air. Life is good! 🙂

  5. asmalltowndad
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 12:09:09

    Not sure what to expect here, Ice, Snow, or freezing rain, all part of living in southern Indiana, but what ever it will be I’M TIRED OF IT! I’m glad the flight went well, and I hope to see ya someday flying over Evansville! Stay in, stay warm, and be safe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

